We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view from the top!”

St. Simons Lighthouse Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
Reviewed July 28, 2014

The lighthouse is a fun little excursion, especially if you have kids. The lady will ask them to count the steps to the top and tell her how many upon the return, so the kids are occupied on counting the entire way up instead of saying, 'are we there yet, or I'm so tired!'

There is nice history to be learned and the museum is interesting as well. The view from the top of the lighthouse is very pretty, just keep a hand on the little ones. The steps are quite narrow and you will have to pass people on the up/down so be careful.

They could lower the price for what it is though. $12 for adults and $5 for kids. They should charge a flat $5 fee for all. There were 4 in our group on this visit and it was $34 for about 20 minutes. A bit much if you ask me.

All in all it was a neat one time excursion and we took some good photos!

Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (818)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"worth the climb"
in 30 reviews
"light house"
in 58 reviews
"gift shop"
in 51 reviews
"keeper's house"
in 15 reviews
"afraid of heights"
in 10 reviews
"beautiful view"
in 30 reviews
"worth the effort"
in 10 reviews
"simons lighthouse"
in 19 reviews
"jekyll island"
in 27 reviews
"short film"
in 9 reviews
"neptune park"
in 9 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 9 reviews
"eugenia price"
in 11 reviews
"st"
in 110 reviews
"admission"
in 35 reviews
"grounds"
in 54 reviews
"gazebo"
in 10 reviews
Filter

549 - 553 of 820 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

The grounds of this lighthouse are impeccably kept and the building and lighthouse themselves are very photogenic! The setting is near a large public park, with the county community center with a swimming pool. We arrived to late to go into the museum but you can easily walk up to the lighthouse and around the grounds. A short walk from the pier and the shops on Mallery St.

Thank SrPbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Beautiful views. Great Museum for all ages and tour of Lighthouse was very cool. Great location for walking to village center, shopping and easy parking even in high season.

Thank newways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

First of all the lighthouse is great (though we needed to make a return visit to see it). Also the lighthouse keepers house which is also a museum is great. And the orientation video is great. And the gift shop is great. Even the bathrooms are great.

Why the average rating? The customer service is poor. Understandably an approaching storm necessitated closing the lighthouse unexpectedly. A great call (yet another great) - but when we asked for a refund - we simply got a business-like response: since we had technically had already started our visit (the gift shop, orientation film, part of the museum - but again, no lighthouse climb) there would be no refund; not even a 'we're sorry. 'Come back another day! Was the best the volunteer staff could offer. When we explained we had driven two hours from Hilton Head and had not planned on making another trip -.we got another all business reply.

So my challenge - match a great museum and lighthouse with great customer service.

Now in the interest of full disclosure - we did rearrange our schedules and returned another day to climb the lighthouse and see other area sights - but not everyone will have that option. So please offer a refund if you close the lighthouse unexpectedly. It's the right thing to do!

4  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We love the beach but St. Simons beach has become crowded and the water seems to be "dirtier" than it once was. We had a good time but finding parking at a handicap access point was tough!

Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Simons Lighthouse Museum also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to St. Simons Lighthouse Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing