We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love lighthouses anywhere in any weather”

St. Simons Lighthouse Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,630 reviews
1,093 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,310 helpful votes
“Love lighthouses anywhere in any weather”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Having just visited the three lighthouses in the Outer Banks/Cape Hatteras it was a little bit of a start to pay $10 for this one, but they need the money to keep the museum and lighthouse in good condition, so consider it an investment and not a fee for the attractions. This climb is about half the height of Cape Hatteras, so no big deal. the view from the top (even on a misty day) are worth the effort. The large park below is inviting as well. It is near the village and is in fine shape.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    259
    50
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An interesting insite into the past along with a cool view”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Yes there are stairs, yes it is 10.00 a piece. Given that, there is a landing with a window every 20 steps, so you can rest if needed and then go on to the next set, it really seems to go quickly.

Oddly enough I am scared of heights so when we made it to the top I just looked out the door and made my husband go outside on the little deck that runs around the outside to take pictures.

To me the really interesting part was the rooms where the lighthouse keeper and assistant keepers lived. There are only a couple of small rooms but in each room there is a little folder that has information about many of the items you see in each room and it really allows you the opportunity to put yourself into a day in the life of people who lived back then. I really feel sorry for the wives, as it looks like most of their time was spent cleaning and cooking with out much time for anything we would consider leisure time.

I personally have spent 10 dollars on a lot less interesting things in my day. Although kids may not be all that interested in the history, the climb to the top and the view would probably be entertainment enough.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WelRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outside Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice view but a little pricey”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Only 129 steps to the top of the lighthouse, so nice views and not a bad climb. But $10? The light house museum was 2 rooms that took approximately 10 minutes (I read every word on Eugenia Price and the first lighthouse keeper) manned by a nice volunteer. The price also included admission to the maritime museum 1.5 miles down the road if you felt like driving down there, but it wasn't easily accessible on the same visit. It should be an option for an upgraded ticket for an extra cost. I paid the $10, but for a family it is would have been cost prohibitive and really not worth it. The park and area surrounding the lighthouse are beautiful, so enjoy the area, and think hard about whether or not you want to spend that much money on the climb.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank coffeebeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lighthouse at St Simons”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The museum was very interesting and the climb to the 'top' was well worth the effort! Do not miss this on your trip to St. Simons.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JennellCanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A must do on st simons island”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We toured the light house and museum on labor day. Very interesting history. After you climb the 129 steps to the top of the light house, the views are incredible. If your on st simons island, the light house tour is a must do.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jreeves1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Simons Lighthouse Museum also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to St. Simons Lighthouse Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing