We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Course and Beautiful Views”

The King and Prince Golf Course
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The King and Prince Golf Course, on the northernmost reaches of this famed barrier island is golf and all its pleasures at their very best. This 18- hole Bermuda Grass course was built in 1989 by designer Joe Lee. Golfers arrive to find a relaxed balance of those things that make the game memorable: the serenity of extraordinary natural beauty and the challenges of one of coastal Georgia's great courses. Emerald fairways, ancient forests, vast salt marshes, island holes, premier instruction, gracious dining, a warm and welcoming clubhouse and staff are combined to make your next round a quality experience on an ideal course “Where You Can’t Just Play Once”.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
214 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Terrific Course and Beautiful Views”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We've been playing Hampton Club and now King and Prince Golf Club for years and every trip to Saint Simons we can't wait to play it again. The front nine mostly plays through the trees with Spanish moss hanging from the branches and then most of the back nine is out on the marshes with spectacular views. The course is always in great condition and is very playable. Not overly difficult which creates an even more relaxing round to enjoy the atmosphere, but go out and play it from the back tees on a windy day and it will call for all of your best shot making. Finally, the staff is always very friendly and extremely helpful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JTM125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    16
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
155 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Expected more”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Very nice golf course, but not very challenging - and I'm not a very good golfer! It was a narrow course. The staff were very friendly. We asked about a beverage cart when we were at hole 5 and they said they only have that out during tournaments. That would have been good to know in advance. I thought for sure such a well known, and expensive, course would have had that. Overall, it was okay. Nice wildlife around with many seabirds, turtles and deer. Whatever you do, don't forget your DEET!! Very buggy!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CPA316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“King and Prince Golf Course”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

In March you can play the King and Prince Golf Course for a very reasonable rate (2 pm or later). The course is nicely designed and maintained, but is most noted for the back nine, which journeys out onto the marsh for several very memorable holes. Watch out for the alligators!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Gem of a golf course..dont miss it”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This course is part of The Georgia Golf Trail, you have to make time to play this wonderful course when you come to St. Simons Island

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GolfTravelHost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved the course”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Played this course and really enjoyed it. Greens were in great shape and it was well taken care of. Twe had members.aying behind us and they made us feel quite hurried and we are quick players. They were racing around to get home and it was a bit uncomfortable. The staff was friendly and sandwiches were excellent. Believe it or not, I had one of the best hot dogs I have had there. We will play again. They had several different tees so everyone had a good distance to play. Very pretty course.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bucks45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The King and Prince Golf Course also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Sea Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to The King and Prince Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing