We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of The Blue Water SSI

The Blue Water SSI
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Located in the Village by the Pier. Best Oceanfront Dining with great Food, spectacular Sunsets, friendly Staff, and the happiest Happy Hour on the Island.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My first time ,WE had a Party of seven and was not able to sit by the windows to see the ocean, but I was OK with that, Some of the party wanted a better view,
One of our guest was with Carnival curse lines for 38 years so he had seen plenty of oceans and ports, but still a better view would have been nicer.
Blane our server was very nice and attentive to our needs, the place was filling up so he had others to wait on, We never wanted long for nothing. He told us the special for the day , got our drinks and we were set,
I had Crab cakes were very good...I didn't hear any complaints from anyone, everyone seemed pleased with their food choices, I tasted the fried shrimp and they were yummy. Also the Burger was HUGH! Our bill was over 200.00 but the food was worth it, and we tipped 18%
I would recommend this place to friends and I will be going back,

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthGeorgiaWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    64
    38
    9
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Not a family restaurant !!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We selected this restaurant because of the view for our children to enjoy. We were turned away because of our 22 month old daughter. Ok for our 9 and 11 year olds to eat upstairs. I suppose they did not want our baby to disturb others!!!! So, beware of Bluewater Bistro.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A very nice place to eat with great views”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The menu is extensive and every thing I have ordered has been very good. Ask for a table upstairs for a good view of St. Simons Sound and Jekyll Island in the distance. The main thing this restaurant lacks is an elevator, but there is downstairs seating for those who cannot climb the stairs.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice view average food”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The view was nice on the upper level of the restaurant. The service was ok - we were a little put off by our bill being tossed on our table from the 3 feet away at the end of our meal. The food itself was average to poor - the salsa had no real zing to it tasted like they dumped a bottle of generic salsa from the grocery store in a bowl and that was it. The entree's were interesting the dishes that our friends got were a little over cooked and dry. While our "Authentic Mexican" tacos were well let just say - they might have over stated the work authentic. The food was ok - it didnt make me want to come back. While the portions were good - i just think the flavors could have been much better with just a little care.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good view, service & food”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

While the downstairs is quite impressive and well decorated, upstairs is the place to be. With an extensive menu from seafood to mexican, I've visited several times and enjoyed both Enchiladas, ceviche, nachos with mexican BBQ, and mahi. The view over the pier is good and the staff is always on the ball.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hokietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Water SSI also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to The Blue Water SSI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing