We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compares to a 5 star restaurant in New York City”

The Rooftop at Ocean Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Our incredible Ocean View Restaurant and Lounge has an unparalleled view of the Atlantic from its rooftop setting. We are sure to become your favorite spot for friends and guests for a one of a kind culinary experience.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Compares to a 5 star restaurant in New York City”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Living near the city, we are spoiled with many 5 star restaurants. The Rooftop restaurant was recommended to me by a local who gave me a pedicure. We decided to go for cocktails, but liked it so much that we stayed for dinner that night, and came back the next. The food was exquisite; tasted delicious, portions were perfect and nicely displayed, and the service was friendly, staff seemed proud to be a part of it - all for reasonable prices. We would highly recommend it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy J, Manager at The Rooftop at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I am so happy that you had a wonderful time at the Rooftop. Your kind words are very much appreciated. I am glad to hear the food was excellent and staff was great. Please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    96
    51
    47
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice views, Great Food, Awsome Staff”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We recently ate at the Rooftop at Ocean Lodge during our anniversary vacation. We had a wonderful meal outside overlooking the ocean.

We had the Mussels McDonough and the Scampi for appetizers, and the Wild Mushroom Ravioli, and the Scapmi Vegatable with Shrimp pasta for entrees. Everything was excellent.

The best thing about the Rooftop was the service. All the staff were very attentive, and the owner of the hotel walked around checking on tables. They also make a great Martini!

We highly recommend the Rooftop at the Ocean Lodge if you're on St. Simons Island.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guestspeakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Drinks or dinner with beautiful sunset view”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We returned to the Ocean Lodge for drinks and appetizers to watch the sunset on our last trip to St Simons and were not disappointed. It was great. We had mussels and fried green tomato/crabcake Napoleon which tasted great. The view can't be beat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MomMarietta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best meal on the island”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We went for dinner this week and enjoyed the ambience of sunset combined with unbelievably good food and fabulous service. I had the filet which melted in my mouth and was cooked perfectly. My daughter had the twin lobster tails and was in foodie heaven. The apple tart dessert was award worthy. Our server was Lorna who is a wonderful representation of the restaurant....very welcoming and attentive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ceilia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Elegant Atmosphere, Stunning Views and Flavorful Fare”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Dining here is always a delight. The views are breathtaking, the staff are pleasant and the food is wonderful. My favorite thing I have here every time I go is the Mussels McDonough. These are Prince Edward Island Mussels that are sauteed in Bruschetta. Excellent food, service, and atmosphere. Exquisite experience. Highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grits18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rooftop at Ocean Lodge also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to The Rooftop at Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing