We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Island Mexicana!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fireside Tex Mex Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Fireside Tex Mex Bar & Grill
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
bqk
Level Contributor
133 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Island Mexicana!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

It's great, small, and great food/booze to boot. What are you waiting for???

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank joelcody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    7
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I was on my Honeymoon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

My husband and I ate here. The frozen margarita's were the bomb! Very good. I got Shrimp-N-Grits, which was excellent. My husband is a burger person. He got a burger and fries. He said it was a hand pattied burger and he liked it. He was very fond of the dinner fires too. The service and atmosphere was great.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rgold02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not my favorite place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

As a lover of Mexican food, I was looking forward to checking this place out. Was frankly disappointed. Very average and the service borders on bad. When we were there, a couple of the wait staff were verbally fighting with each other.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank PeachPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent nachos and margaritas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Four of us went to Fireside and shared appetizers/entrees. Nacho platter and beef tacos were great! The cuban sandwich is more like a barbeque sandwich than a true cuban -- good, but not what I expected taste wise. Very friendly service!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sundrinkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD PLACE FOR BREAKFAST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We visited on a Sunday morning around 9:30am. There was a steady flow of people coming and going. So naturally we were concerned about service, however, the service was great. We were waited on immediately and our food arrived within 11 minutes. And it was wonderful. The hashbrowns were the best I've tasted in a long time. Each item had a good flavor and the coffee was fresh. Perfect place for breakfast!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaHarpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fireside Tex Mex Bar & Grill also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing