We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Ft. Frederica”

Fort Frederica National Monument
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful park was the site of one of the first British colonies.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We love Ft. Frederica”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Interesting history, check. Beautiful river and marsh views, check. Kids' dress-up corner, check. This is absolutely worth a stop, even if it's just to see some live oaks and open space.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    265
    71
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
482 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 449 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

A piece of US history that is slowly slipping away. Much of this area is rich in history, from pirates and privateers to ship wrecks.

You can walk among the ruins and learn, for example, that a lot of the historic buildings were made from a mix of sand and sea shells. Tabby. And it's not a cat.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jjstives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, GA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“John and Charles Wesley Preached here”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a beautiful spot in the bend of the river, bugs and all. The film in the history center was very interesting. I've been coming to Saint Simons all my life and finally found out why it's call the Bloody Marsh - the myths and the truth. It was an extra for me to see the foundation of the building where John Wesley preached to the Anglicans in the late 1730's. Just a note - I got my National Park Senior Pass ($10) that got us both into the park that day and in the Maine Arcadia National Park for free later in the year. And free into any other participating National Park as long as I can hold on to the card... What a great deal!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GAgardeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust, Grove, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot for history buffs and very accessible to those on scooters.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We visited on a warm December day. The volunteer working that day gave us an excellent crash course in fort history. As Methodists we especially enjoyed seeing the spot of the inn where John Wesley was attacked by an irate woman. The grounds are well maintained and mostly level. We had a handicapped person in our group and she managed very well on her scooter.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ekilgo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ianother fort but this time with a difference”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is another fort built for protection in the civil war but this one is more interesting in the fact that in the park round it the old town is mapped out and there are descriptions of what it would have been like. When we went the visitor centre was closed and we just walked and didn't have to pay but if we had it would have been worth it. A beautiful place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank eileanbeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Frederica National Monument also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Fort Frederica National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing