We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here last week for 4 days over Thanksgiving. The location is absolutely perfect - right behind the lighthouse/beach and very close to lots of shops and restaurants. The staff were super friendly and helpful, and there were some nice amenities - free breakfast and Wi-Fi. I also like that the rooms are all different and you can choose your specific room online. However, I felt like the cost was a bit too high considering the overall experience. The rooms (and I can say rooms, plural, because we had to switch rooms due to broken heating) were out of date and needed some upgrading/remodeling. In addition to the broken heat, the room we were moved to had a broken mini-fridge and no closet. The rooms just seemed run down, like no work had been done on them in a long while. The hallways and the bedding in our first room also had a musty smell to them, and we couldn't get a Wi-Fi signal in that room. Choose this hotel for the location, not for the quality of the rooms.

Room Tip: Each room is very much individualized, so take that into account when choosing. And it's not jus...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    150
    57
    24
    15
See reviews for
113
253
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

My husband and I travel quite a bit, and we have experienced complete dumps as well as the world's largest hotel. This small gem in SSI will be sure to amaze you. From the covered parking deck to the amazing staff (Tim is perfect!), we loved every second of our stay. We arrived for a fly-in a couple of months ago and stayed in the penthouse, which was by far better than anywhere that I have ever stayed. It beats Hampton, Hilton, Opryland Hotels, Westin, etc by a long shot! The second we got in the penthouse, we went downstairs to reserve a second night. Everything was spotless and I loved having our own private entrance. The balcony overlooking the lighthouse was magnificent and the AC works like a champ. We were already planning next year's visit before we left. The breakfast is YUMMY as well! Everything you could possibly need is in walking distance and the housekeeping staff is great. Before I could make it to the door to meet the guy bringing extra towels, he was there!! Stay here and you will be a forever guest!

Room Tip: Don't eat at the Fourth of May. They have a 72 health score!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoTideWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Overall, a very nice, quaint 32 room or so Inn. It needs updating. Our room had the "little things" wrong that are the details difference between good and great. Things like missing light switches, electric outlets falling out of the wall, a rather large hole in the seam of the bed spread, and not a balance of appropriate hangers in the wardrobe. The location was great, as was the front desk clerk for most of our 3 day stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed here one night in November, 2013 and my experience at this Inn was excellent!

Location, location, location! If you're visiting SSI for the lighthouse, food and shopping, then this is, by far, the best location to be. The Lighthouse is directly across the street. The pier is an easy walk as is the rest of the village, just a couple of blocks down an easy, non-busy road.

There is easy parking underneath the Inn so it's completely covered while you unpack and take either the stairs or elevator up to the main, 1st floor. The staff upon arrival were very friendly and helpful. They have complementary ice water with lemons in a fun dispenser at the main desk which I thought was neat. Plus it came in handy later when I realized I didn't have a bottle of water with me in my room!

The lobby is very comfortable. There is a TV seating area and also a good number of tables to eat breakfast in the mornings. Their breakfast choices were wonderful.

I stayed in a 1st Floor room (Room 114). All of the rooms at this Inn are decorated differently as they are owned by different people. My room had tile flooring, 2 Queen beds, lovely artwork and a calming color scheme. There is a mini fridge and microwave in the large TV console. The beds & bedding were comfortable. There's a separate chair and luggage rack. This room connects to another room as well.

The bathroom is small but nice. Large walk-in shower but a low-flow shower head. I don't like that but some people might. :) The track lighting at the sink was too dim for me to see to put my makeup on. The towels were big & fluffy! I always love that.

The room was very clean and neat upon arrival. The vending machine (ice & drinks) was just a couple of doors down.

I DID have what I believe was a small paranormal experience, but my family thinks I'm crazy so I won't go into that! What I WILL say is I spoke to two staff members, separately, who both have had "interesting" experiences at the Inn.

I'm SO glad my cousin found this place for me to stay! The price of the rooms during this time of the off-season are EXCELLENT. I would choose this Inn over anything else I've stayed at in the area, and that includes the King & Prince Resort. This Inn provides easy access to the most popular things on the island with the comforts of being at home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTK113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We booked this hotel for a four night stay during the PGA McGladrey golf tournament at Sea Island. We were very pleasantly surprized at what a great property it turned out to be. It is within easy walking distance to everything in the village (a block or two). The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. When I had to receive a fax for business I went to the main desk and they gave me their number. After I received the fax I asked them to fax something back for me. Then I asked them to put it on my bill. They just laughed and said that there was no charge for little extras like that. Certainly not the response you get in most hotels. The hotel had complementry wireless internet service in the lobby AND the rooms which was really easy to access and which worked really well. Also the complementary breakfast was really exceptional bakery pastries rather than grocery store pastries. The room was large and clean. This is a long review but I was really surprized at how nice our stay was in this property at this price point. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

First visit to St. Simon's and the Inn was in an excellent location, with walking access to the village and waterfront. We stayed in the Penthouse and the accommodations were unsurpassed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back!

Room Tip: For a romantic trip, the Penthouse is superb. It is the only room with a balcony on the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Clean, Clean ,Clean, Great Room with window looking out at the lighthouse, walking distance to the pier village shops and restaurants. Was only there 1 Night because we had to be in Florida the next day or we would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charliebGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.5 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#3 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Inn and Suites
Ocean Inn and Suites
#9 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Simons
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Simons
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
0.9 mi away
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
The King and Prince Beach and Go...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sea Gate Inn
The Sea Gate Inn
#2 of 6 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse

Property: Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Address: 609 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saint Simons Inn, in the shadow of a centuries-old lighthouse, is easily within walking distance to all the shops, restaraunts, ocean and the fishing pier. There are 34 spacious guest rooms, each equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, and cable television. Enjoy a host of complimentary ammenities, including continental breakfast, high speed wireless internet, coffee and donuts, and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Simons Inn By The Lighthouse Hotel Saint Simons Island
Saint Simons Brunswick
St Simons Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing