We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, spacious and attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
UK countryside
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable, spacious and attentive staff”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed for one night on the way back from Savannah and stayed here as it was mentioned in the Fodor book. We hadn't booked but it wasn't busy. Reception were very friendly and helpful and our room was excellent; clean, spacious and with a microwave, fridge and coffee maker. Unfortunately, the walls were very thin and we were able to hear every word from the next room (they didn't seem to think it was necessary to keep the noise down either). No idea if we were just unlucky and they were loud, but we couldn't sleep until they decided to! Continental style breakfast provided. Location was great with easy walking distance to bars and restaurants. This is really a family location and as just a couple, we will probably stay in Jekyll Island if we come this way again. That said, the room was quite cheap $109.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrygirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    160
    60
    26
    15
See reviews for
124
263
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grovetown, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

A perfect getaway for "a couple's vacation". April 1st - April 4th 2012. Booked 3 nights and chose to stay a 4th night as we very much enjoyed the amenities and location to restaurants and shops. Stayed in room 102 for 3 nights and moved to room 209 as we chose to stay an additional night and were accomodated beautifully by Alphonso! The only complaint was breakfast choices that were similar everyday. We were able to walk everywhere and felt comfortable and safe. Brogen's,(ask for Wesley, the #1 bartender!), Crab Trap (ask for Tay, the #1 bartender!) and Iguana's (ask for Beverly, the #1 bartender!). Great atmosphere, food, Margaritas and prices at all these places. Bennie's Red Barn Restaurant is well worth the drive and highly recommmended. (ask for David who is the #1 server requested!).The food (get the Surf and Turf and Margaritas!) and service is A+!!! Recommend day trips to Cumberland Island from St. Marys, drive to Fernandina Beach Fl, Jekyll Island and the Georgia Sea Turtle Center (hats off to the staff for their continued care, rehabilitation and research for these precious, endangered turtles), (Rah Bar for lunch and Margaritas!) and Fort Frederica National Monument Tour. We can't wait to go back again!!!

Room Tip: Check out room pictures on the web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Very nice, boutique-style hotel; located very close to the Village area; close to the Pier. Beautiful surroundings! The lighthouse is across from the hotel. My husband and I were visiting St Simons with our Granddaughter, meeting up with other family members who were also visiting St Simons. Our room was very clean; located directly over the pool area--had a walk-out balcony. Nice bathroom, with double shower. Had a nice area with a microwave over, sink; had plenty of closet space, also. Also had a continental-style breakfast included with our room: coffee, juice, toast, pastries, fruit, cereal, milk. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Having a room with a walk-out balcony was very nice. Some of the rooms don't have the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This hotel was just what we needed! The location is about 2 blocks from the main drag on St. Simons, a quick walk to the pier and a walkable beach area, and directly across from the lighthouse. Also right across from the huge playground and public pool. Our room was clean, the staff was friendly, and there was parking underneath the hotel. There's a tiny pool and a couple of patio tables for lounging, picnicking, etc. This hotel was perfect for our needs. We were in town for a wedding (at the lighthouse across the street) and just some chill-out time. The only tiny complaint I had was the low water pressure in the shower, but it was really no big deal. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 302 & 303 are walk up only-no elevator access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CecilyGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Room was not that clean and 2nd day, house keeping just threw the towels on top of our bathroom things on the sink, did not give us fresh coffee or cups. We won't stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We held our wedding at a private house on St. Simons Island on October 1, 2011. For our guests that came in from out of town we selected the St. Simons Inn by the Lighthouse. From beginning to end they were wonderful and the front desk was happy to give me an updated list of names when I requested them. They also delivered welcome bags and also helped to organize the tuxedo pick up and drop off. It is within walking distance to the Village. The rooms are all different so each of our guests got a unique experience. I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAVHIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

The staff was excellent and the hospitality wonderful! 5 stars. They represent the warmth am spirit of the Golden Isles quite well. Free conti breakfast and an amazing location.

But, our room smelled a bit misty, furnishings felt like they hadn't been touched since 1994 and bathroom had visible mildew growing on the paint of the walls. No exaggeration.

But, location obviously keeps this place competitive. Wished for a cleaner feel to the place.

Maybe after renovations it'll regain what it once was.

In summary: a beach crash pad best enjoyed if you are sufficiently intoxicated ... By the

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.5 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
588 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Inn and Suites
Ocean Inn and Suites
#9 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
116 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
6.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse

Property: Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Address: 609 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saint Simons Inn, in the shadow of a centuries-old lighthouse, is easily within walking distance to all the shops, restaraunts, ocean and the fishing pier. There are 34 spacious guest rooms, each equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, and cable television. Enjoy a host of complimentary ammenities, including continental breakfast, high speed wireless internet, coffee and donuts, and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Simons Inn By The Lighthouse Hotel Saint Simons Island
Saint Simons Brunswick
St Simons Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing