We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frederica House

Frederica House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Unique restaurant ....service was good....food was great...pasta, crab cakes. Had plenty of food no room for dessert.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    56
    24
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An OK St. Simons Island Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Living on St. Simons Island we eat out a lot and are very familiar with all of the places to go. We had not eaten at the Frederica House in awhile and decided to go there for dinner. First, this is a very cool looking place with all of the wood on the inside. If you are coming here for great seafood there are better choices for the same money on the island. My wife had grilled fish which you could tell was previously frozen and was average tasting. I had shrimp and grits which were ok and if that is what you are wanting go to Blackwater Grill. Service was great and if you got fried shrimp/fish it will be ok but the Crab Trap or Crabdaddy's might be a better choice for you if you are visiting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stevestsimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
124 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Yummy Fried Shimp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I think Frederica House has some of the best fried shrimp on the island. When we want fried shrimp or traditional shrimp salad this is where we go. The shrimp are local and fresh, and always perfectly fried. They have a nicely varied menu so you can choose from salads, fried foods, etc. The only disappointment I've had there was a cup of their crab stew - which to me was more of a chowder - either way, not very tasty - a little bland. It's definitely worth a trip though for fried shrimp and I like the pasta salad as a side with a little ranch dressing mixed into it! Sweet tea could be a lot sweeter too but still - great shrimp!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthernGal820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“House is right!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

A porch as you enter, big cypress beams, hanging plants everywhere, loads of smiles, & great food! The Frederica House is a St Simons Island staple. The food is delicious & the service is impeccable. This well-established restaurant never ceases to be consistent in all things hospitality! Steaks, seafood, salads, daily specials, & great drinks and desserts!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stick to Seafood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have eaten here many times and have been pleased with the service and food.This was not the case recently.All four of my party ordered beef tips with peppers served over rice.This was a special and special it was----- awful!The meat was ok but the sauce served with the dish was so salty we could not eat it.I told our server about this when we received the check and she politely said she was sorry and walked off.If we dine here again in the near future, I think we will stick with the seafood as it has always been good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gapeachMiddleGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frederica House also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Frederica House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing