We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated and Overpriced”
Review of Frederica House

Frederica House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overrated and Overpriced”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This restaurant probably was good 10 years ago. Now their menu seems boring. This coincides with the fact the food has zero flavor. My grouper special was undercooked, my wife's crab cake lacked crab but had plenty of dry breeding, and my son's steak was flavorless and tough. When we inquired about oysters they got really defensive and acted like we were asking for an illegal drug (keep in mind we just asked if they were in season). My wife's crab cakes came out totally dry and when she asked about any ramulade(sp) sauce the waitress handed her a bottle of Ketchup and told her that was all she needed. The waitress bragged about the steak not needing any steak sauce... that was true because it didn't warrant eating. Waffle House's steaks are 10x's better than this one was. My grouper was raw in the middle (had a jelly texture) and after going back twice was finally cooked completely... the problem was that they microwaved it to the point of completely drying it out. This meal was well over $70 without drinks and tasted and appeared to be prepared by untrained high school students.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawgahoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    57
    28
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, okay food”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The soups are wonderful. Just an average dinner but we eat there a lot because there are few restaurants available. Good idea to call for a reservation.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Atmosphere, Great Service!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

When people come to the Island and want fried shrimp and good seafood- send them to the Frederica House! I loved the interior wood of the building and felt right at home with my family there. They had some of the best fried shrimp I ever ate, the best salad dressing (Paris) and great service. My only complaint? There was not more of it! The food was so good and we were hungry- and it was gone in a flash. Make reservations to sit downstairs, it can get a little stuffy upstairs, although it is quaint- it's a squeeze. Worth the trip to the north end of the island and save room for dessert! You can order any of them and be perfectly content.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guyton, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, fair prices, great service”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Husband and I went for dinner on a Saturday evening. We were seated in the upstairs dining area right away. This restaurant seems to appeal to a wide variety of guests - we were seated near a large family group with young children, as well as a group of older ladies.

The food was good, but we felt it was just slightly overpriced for the quality and serving sizes. However, the desserts were perfect! They were the best part of our meal.

Service was excellent. Ann was our server and she took care of us like we were her dear friends. She even tolerated my husband's tendency to tease/pick on servers.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The shrimp and scallops are always prepared perfectly and the hush puppies are addictive!
The owner always makes a point to personally greet the guests and it reallys shows they care about the customer. This is the best place in St. Simons!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LIBO_104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frederica House also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Frederica House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing