We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at best”
Review of Bubba Garcia's

Bubba Garcia's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

While the menu looked interesting the food was no better than your average Mexican restaurant. We were disappointed since we drove from Jekyll Island to have dinner there. Nothing special about the service or atmosphere. Unless you enjoy loud, drunk people in the dining area. We didn't.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KRJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    71
    21
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Best Margaritas on the Island”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We always enjoy our meals and Margaritas too served in Mason Jars. Good Chips and Salsa and once you decide what you want to eat it arrives pretty quickly lots of choices and a wide variety of local favorites too. Best Mexican we have found and visit often every time we are in St. Simons Island you won't be sorry and the Servers are always friendly and helpful. Mucho Gracias Bubba Garcia's.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oelmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not worth trying to find”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The food was okay, and the atmosphere, if I was in a different mood would have been fun, but only okay.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank revkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Food is good”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

No atmosphere- you're eating outside essentially in a tent. It's a bit dirty looking, but the food is Tex Mex and pretty good. I'll go back when they clean it up a bit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SusanL938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Thankfully, not the usual taco stand!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Refreshing to find a Mexican restaurant that offers a little more variety than the usual old stand by. I opted for the Salmon Quesadilla with Spinach and also tried the fish and pineapple tacos- both were amazing! I love the fact that they don't over portion and waste food- it was appropriately priced, and just enough to fill us up. Never made it upstairs for the bar- but it sounded like those who did were having a good time!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leigh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Garcia's also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Bubba Garcia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing