We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavorful”
Review of Halyards

Halyards
Reserve with OpenTable
Halyards is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Frederica Road
Description: Halyards on St. Simons has been redefining Island Cuisine for 11 popular years. The Island's unrivaled see-and-be-seen dinner spot for locals who know and for coastal visitors who've heard that the Seared Tuna with a Plum Wine Reduction and the Prime N.Y. Strip with Soy Lime Butter will make your evening. That's not to say you should skip the Creamy Blue Crab Bisque or the nightly specials. The atmosphere is casually elegant (coozy lounge furniture in the courtyard and under the awning), the welcome warm (usually by name), the service crisp and attentive, the wine cellar vast (7 Wine Spectator Awards) and the comfortable bar hip and hopping. The menu is the brilliant handiwork of Chef/Owner Dave Snyder that changes nightly and is bold, creative and gloriously rewarding. To be sure you're pleased, Dave roams the front of the house for comments when he's not out fishing for your dinner. As you would expect at a restaurant of Halyards' caliber, reservations are a good idea.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Flavorful”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Very good about reminding you when your reservation is and very welcoming. The flavor of the food was excellent. We had the flounder with the cream garlic sauce and brussel sprouts with onion and bacon. Desserts were average. Wait staff was attentive. This is a nice restaurant with slightly higher prices, but atmosphere is wonderful.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Juan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    79
    32
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
312 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Decent Meal but Expected More...”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Halyard's has a reputation for being really really good. The night my Brother-in-law and Sister-in-Law took us it must have been an off night…

The first disappointment was the bartender could not make the drinks on the menu. The second one was when the appetizers arrived and seemed not guide warm enough like they had sat in the window (waiter issue?).

Our entree's arrived and they were delicious but I have had better for the price of the meal. Like I said maybe it was an off night, but I enjoyed the food and service at Palmer's better. Halyard's for me only faired better in atmosphere and with their outdoor swinging couch and table seating.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ms.LoveTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Chocolate Cake”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Get the chocolate cake, it is to die for. The opinion of a seasoned international chocolate cake tester.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EJVJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Seafood”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Chose this restaurant on the basis of tripadvisor reviews and were not dissapointed. Best Seafood we had on the Island, together with a great atmosphere. Service was a high point with prices reasonable for this type of restaurant. This should be a "must do" for anyone visiting Saint Simons Island.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome Food and Service at a Reasonable Price”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

After two nights eating at the Sea Island Resort Restaurants (good food in general but pricey), we tried Halyards located just off the property. Outstanding choice! The tuna was AWESOME! All of the other dishes were great too! Next time we go, we will eat here or the Italian next door owned by the same owner every night!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gigitexas525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halyards also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Halyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing