We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, relaxing, superb food”
Review of Halyards

Halyards
Reserve with OpenTable
Halyards is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Frederica Road
Description: Halyards on St. Simons has been redefining Island Cuisine for 11 popular years. The Island's unrivaled see-and-be-seen dinner spot for locals who know and for coastal visitors who've heard that the Seared Tuna with a Plum Wine Reduction and the Prime N.Y. Strip with Soy Lime Butter will make your evening. That's not to say you should skip the Creamy Blue Crab Bisque or the nightly specials. The atmosphere is casually elegant (coozy lounge furniture in the courtyard and under the awning), the welcome warm (usually by name), the service crisp and attentive, the wine cellar vast (7 Wine Spectator Awards) and the comfortable bar hip and hopping. The menu is the brilliant handiwork of Chef/Owner Dave Snyder that changes nightly and is bold, creative and gloriously rewarding. To be sure you're pleased, Dave roams the front of the house for comments when he's not out fishing for your dinner. As you would expect at a restaurant of Halyards' caliber, reservations are a good idea.
Bedford, TX
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfortable, relaxing, superb food”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Birthday celebration with a colleague. Fabulous food. Excellent service. Unique combinations. Fresh fish with exception of farm-fed salmon. Good wine list. Great ambience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmdevries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    79
    32
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“YUM-O!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Chef Dave and his staff are eagerly awaiting to serve you some of the best steaks and seafood this little island has to offer. The menu is constantly changing for whatever fish is fresh, but you will not be less than wowed by the plate that appears on your table!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Spent New Years Eve here.This was our second visit and we were not disappointed, Food was fabulous. Service outstanding. Worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Georgia924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pampered & Delicious”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Thanks to Trip Advisor I was able to plan our 34th wedding anniversary dinner at Halyards. The evening started good from the start with excellent directions from one of the staff to the restaurant. Reservation was ready. Waitress was very attentive and helpful. The meal was delicious from teh Oysters Rockefeller, crab bisque, wedge to the filet available special the evening we were there. The price was expected for a quality dining experience. We will return when in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blessedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, GA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great New Year's Eve dinner”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We chose this restaurant for a large group dinner on new years eve and we were not disappointed. The fixed price menu had great, diverse choices for appetizers, salads and main courses. We were able to bring our own wines and pay a corkage fee. Our separate dining room allowed us to enjoy our party without bothering others. David, our waiter, was attentive and helpful. The food was delicious. The chef even came in to visit us which was a nice touch. Overall would highly recommend this one if you are near St Simons. Will definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaisyRoswell_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Halyards also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Halyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing