We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Saint Simons Island
Post
Inbox
Search

“Good food, limited ambiance”

Catch 228 Oyster Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Description: Catch 228 Oyster Bar & Grill on St. Simons IslandFeaturing Raw, Steamed, and Baked Oysters. Everyday from 4-6 PM 75 cent oysters. Also featuring Crab Legs as well as LOTS of other Seafood Offerings,soups, Salads,nonseafood, and MUCH MUCH MORE! Full Bar Available and Live Music
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We called to make a reservation which they don't take. google maps didn't get us to the right spot. Once we got there, we were told it would be 15 minutes for a table for 2. Was much more than that. Dining room with tile floor, no personality, felt like a cafeteria. The bar area looked better. Food was actually pretty good, seafood was our choice of course.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stay812526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 393 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2019 via mobile

We stopped in there after we went shopping at redfern village. We got oysters on the half shell and peel and eat shrimp. I'm not sure what they put in their shrimp sauce but it was incredible. I will definitely be back there on my next visit to the island!

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank barb11172016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2019 via mobile

Loved this place. Random pick instead of Gnats (been there). Start to finish really good. Began with Tyler. You know how you want a waiter that’s almost too much. That was Tyler. Really good tips and all over ya but in a charming, appreciated way. His tip about Parmesan char-grilled oysters was money. We also couldn’t finish the clam strips - huge portion. It was a little pricey but worth it!

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank jdtorell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2019

Great deals for Happy Hour- fresh oysters were delicious. We ordered appetizers and crab soup, and everything was good. Servers were friendly and efficient.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Tanzy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2019 via mobile

Whenever we come to the beach, we eat here, and usually more than once! They have THE BEST crab stew, oysters, and I always have the fried grouper plate with grilled veggies and cheese grits. It is delicious! My parents get the whole fried flounder when it is available as a special and love it too!! My daughter either gets the fried shrimp or the French Dip and loves both! Definitely our favorite place to eat at SSI.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank gaseanative72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catch 228 Oyster Bar & Grill also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Catch 228 Oyster Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing