We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service!”

Catch 228 Oyster Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Catch 228 Oyster Bar & Grill on St. Simons IslandFeaturing Raw, Steamed, and Baked Oysters. Everyday from 4-6 PM 75 cent oysters. Also featuring Crab Legs as well as LOTS of other Seafood Offerings,soups, Salads,nonseafood, and MUCH MUCH MORE! Full Bar Available and Live Music
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

My husband and I went here simply because we were looking for a low country boil. We were not disappointed! It was delicious and the wait staff was prompt and friendly. The pricing was very reasonable ($10.99 for our entree). Definitely recommend it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Genie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    99
    35
    20
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evans, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We had the crab cakes as an appetizer and the Low Country Boil with crab legs! I highly recommend this restaurant. Our server was attentive and I was really surprised at how quickly our food came. We enjoyed live music on the patio and had a wonderful evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PDPKitc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
479 reviews
367 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Freshest Oysters For Miles”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Went there with some friends who live locally on the Island for a few beers and seafood...Grabbed a seat at the bar and everything was amazing...Freshest oysters on the half shell that I have eaten in years, Georgia Wild Caught Steamed Shrimp were awesome and the Ahi Tuna was as good as any I have had....Cold Beers and George who handles the bar and his fellow mates were there in advance of everything we requested....Found my newest favorite local spot when traveling in town....Conveniently located and priced right.....

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best casual Seafood in St Simons so far”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Oysters were much better than Half Shell and Igaunas. Peel and eat Shrimp were perfect. Bartenders and oyster man were great dudes. Eat at the Bar and you won't stop eating. A great place and definitely will go back.

Cheers.

@bonedoggle

Helpful?
Thank james r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not great but not bad ”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We ended up here after no one could decide where to eat. While it wasn't horrible - it wasn't great either . Calamari was good but our meals were just ok. 2 of us had the shrimp dinner ( again good but not great ) one had shrimp and grits ( see previous comment ) and one had a burger - which he didn't eat half of - said it was over cooked but didn't think sending it back was worth it.

Helpful?
Thank debmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catch 228 Oyster Bar & Grill also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Catch 228 Oyster Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing