We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will be disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You will be disappointed”
Reviewed November 24, 2010

Absolutely disappointed. This hotel trades on its history. Our room (a 3 bedroom condo) was decorated in the 1980's. Walled mirrors abound. The TVs in the bedrooms were VCR compatible (but not DVD) if that puts it in perspective. Stains were present throughout the carpet. The kitchen - don't even get me started. Nothing was updated.

As for the hotel itself, basic maintenance proved to be a problem. Around the pool rust was everywhere on the railing and most of the pool chairs had seen one to many days of sun.

The staff, while pleasant, were essentially kids. There was nothing professional about them.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank See_U_there_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    286
    110
    63
    31
See reviews for
314
446
28
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

King & Prince is a great hotel. We enjoyed the staff, area and of course the hotel!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lea6467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

RIGHT ON THE OCEAN, SOMETHING FOR EVERYONE
Year 'round something to do in the Golden Isles of Georgia. Perfect resort for business conferences, weddings, anything you need - they have it. Fun shopping all over St. Simons Island. Great historical points of interest. tennis, gold, horseback riding, fishing, biking, water sports, casino boat not far away

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn31523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2010

It has been years since I've stayed on St. Simons Island. This was my first stay at The King and Prince. Everyone was so friendly and seemed to sincerely want our stay to be comfortable. The room was clean and bright and spacious. The view of the beach, ocean and pool area was great. Even though there was a conference going on, there were no problems with noise or crowding. It was nice to have a small area of beach pretty much to ourselves and it was so convenient to get to. We enjoyed our stay so much we stayed an extra night. Breakfast was great every morning. We'll definately go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianehh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

I try to visit the King and Prince once a year, usually in October. It has always been the perfect time of the year. This year the weather was beautiful. The King and Prince is definitely the best place to stay on the island. The accommodations are always clean and well-maintained. The tvs could be updated in the rooms but other than that I think the rooms are fine. The staff has always been very helpful and pleasant. I could not ask for a better vacation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthGAGirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2010

I helped organize our first University of Tennessee Bioenergy Conference (Frontiers in Biorefining) at the King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort Oct. 18-22, 2010. This was hands down one of the most beautiful places on the island. The staff was fantastic!!!! They were all extremely helpful and worked with us on a lot of tid bits that arised while we were there. We had only positive remarks from our conference attendee's regarding the hotel, location, staff and food. The hotel is central to three airports which was very useful especially for foreign attendees. The food that was supplied by K&P was outstanding!! Also, the location of the hotel was great because you can walk to downtown, shops and restaurants easily. There are so many options on the island that you can do for fun and leisure as well as business purposes. I absolutely LOVE the King and Prince and am sooo looking forward to going back next year!!!! We stayed a few days after the conference to really enjoy the hotel accomodations and what the island had to offer.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agsilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2010

This hotel was fantastic. The room and location were great, but the most amazing part was the service. Every person I talked to was amazingly helpful. My friend actually had a few unusual requests, but the staff was more than happy to do anything they could do to help. I will definitely try to stay here again. Great trip

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhcrabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.4 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
583 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
585 reviews
0.9 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,188 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
2.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort

Property: The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
Address: 201 Arnold Rd, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic ocean front resort on St Simons Island, Georgia features 195 guest rooms in a variety of buildings, room decor and views, including two and three bedroom villas and resort residences. Resort amenities include five oceanfront pools, a challenging 18 hole golf course, massage therapy at the Royal Treatment Cottage, complimentary fitness center, oceanfront dining, two clay tennis courts, Wi-Fi (wireless) technology and the beautiful beachfront of the Golden Isles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King And Prince Beach And Golf Hotel Saint Simons Island
King And Prince Beach Hotel
King Prince St Simons
King And Prince Resort
King And Prince Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing