We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“family trip”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We take a family vaction every summer. We went to Saint Simon Island. I had mixed feeling. I had heard such good things about this whole area. I was un-impressed. The resort only had one resturant and it was bad. We had a villa, which was a 2 bedroom house. We tried the laundry machine and it was so loud it was ueslest. The resort was just a little worn. The elevators were smelly, so we used the stairs to reach the third floor.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kymm I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
We apologize that you were not able to relax and enjoy your recent visit to the resort.
We have taken all of your comments under consideration and will work to improve in these areas.
We sincerely hope that this does not deter you from future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    286
    110
    63
    31
See reviews for
314
446
28
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I just spent eight nights at the King and Prince - three nights were due to business and five were vacation. The hotel did a fine job accommodating our business meetings. The room was comfortable and reasonably priced. Of special note was our housekeeper Ashley - she was fantastic!! The newly renovated lobby and lounge area looks great. And the conceirge was outstanding!!

A couple of negatives. I had breakfast in the hotel one day and it really was not very good. And, even though I did not have dinner at the hotel I reviewed the dinner menu and it was very limited - and the wine list needs to be upgraded. The view from the restaurant is beautiful .

Overall, I think this is the best place to stay on St. Simons. We have stayed there multiple times and have never been disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a cabana room - well wort a few extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback.
We are so glad that you enjoyed the service you recieved from both Ashley and the Concierge.
We really love the new Lobby as well, it is so warm and cozy.
We have shared your commnents with our Food & Beverage Department and they will work diligently to improve these areas.
Please visit us again soon.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The golf and the food make Saint Simon a first class getaway and The King and Prince is the icing on the cake.

From front desk check to accommodations I got the royal treatment including a nice beach view. It was relaxing and if you choose not to dine on property there are good choices a short walk away.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clickonrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
We are so glad your time at the King and Prince was both enjoyable and relaxing.
We were so glad to have you as our guest and hope that you will join us again soon.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We recently stayed in The King and Prince Villas. We took our family of 6 and a friend joined mid-week. We had a great view of the property overlooking the ocean. We ate and had drinks every day at the pool and at the Echo restaurant. The food was probably the best we had all week and the daiquiris were certainly a hit with our group. We ate out lunch and dinner all week in town and at the K & P. The weather was perfect. The accommodations were great. 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, huge great room, nice balcony overlooking everything. Great vacation all together. I would highly recommend the K & P. My husband and I have stayed in the Tower Room as well and it was super nice. The new renovation is beautiful. Overall fabulous property.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel and restaurant, ECHO. We have enjoyed the benefit of a new facility that matches our natural surroundings and unbeatable view of the ocean. We are also fortunate to have a staff that enjoys their jobs and the quality that we strive for. Please come see us again to enjoy our gorgeous rooms and locally inspired food!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Nebraska
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Several options for accommodations at this facility. Ours was a 3rd floor room, 2 queen beds, balcony facing ocean. Probably in the middle of the price options. Extremely nice room and very well maintained: quiet, great beds, TV, Wi-Fi, plumbing, bedding, towels, etc.. Structure itself was well designed and constructed. 5-star quality. Every staff member we encountered was friendly, helpful, and professional. Three swimming pools; one of which for small children. All very nice. Lots of good lounge chairs. Easy access to great beach. Two clay tennis courts and exercise room available at no extra charge. Good, close-by parking. Do not eat dinner at their restaurant. One meal we ordered was not edible. There are some good restaurants off-site, a couple within walking distance. Breakfast quality was good but not too many options.

Room Tip: You decide: is having a room facing the ocean and pools worth the extra price?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hodag1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind yet candid review. We appreciate the recognition of our wonderful facilities and cordial staff. Please accept our apologies for your dining experience. Please feel free to contact us at the hotel to discuss the issues you encountered. We have recently opened ECHO a new restaurant concept here at the Hotel and have had many rave reviews. We are sorry that you did not have that same experience but hope you will give us another chance when you are again in town.
Thank you again for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We've been to the King and Prince quite a few times over the years, usually with a business convention. The recent renovations and updates have made the property even more enjoyable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and spacious. We love playing tennis on the clay courts. The fitness center is adequate and well stocked with equipment and towels. The pool area looks out over the ocean, and has plenty of lounge chairs. We don't usually spend much time on the beach itself. The sand is kept clean, but it's not white sand, and the water isn't very clear. We usually rent bikes one day and ride around the island. Overall, we love this location, and always look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend with friends. They were "upgraded" to a villa but we all agreed that my king suite was much nicer. The only upgrade to the villa was the fact that there was a kitchen, but the furniture was dated and bathrooms were tiny. Save your money for other things and get a king suite if you're traveling without kids. Staff were very professional, food was not very good (you can find much better fare at restaurants off property) and drinks were poor - they use ice from the local water supply which has a high sulfur smell and taste. Overall, it's a fine place to stay but the best thing going for it is the fact that it's ocean front property with a lot of frontage. And they allow pets, which is a huge plus. It's located next to a public access area so the beach can get crowded.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HOPEFUL12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your review of our resort and the positive comments. We are sorry that you did not enjoy our dining facilities and would love to hear more details so that we can improve our offerings. We do use the best water supply available and add the extra step of an inline filter to best improve our water quality. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the cocktails as a result.
Again thank your for your kind words and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.4 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
584 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
587 reviews
0.9 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,188 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
2.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort

Property: The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
Address: 201 Arnold Rd, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic ocean front resort on St Simons Island, Georgia features 195 guest rooms in a variety of buildings, room decor and views, including two and three bedroom villas and resort residences. Resort amenities include five oceanfront pools, a challenging 18 hole golf course, massage therapy at the Royal Treatment Cottage, complimentary fitness center, oceanfront dining, two clay tennis courts, Wi-Fi (wireless) technology and the beautiful beachfront of the Golden Isles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King And Prince Beach And Golf Hotel Saint Simons Island
King And Prince Beach Hotel
King Prince St Simons
King And Prince Resort
King And Prince Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing