We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We went to St Simons for the first time in MidMarch. Rented an oceanfront room and it is really nice. However, when we returned from golfing one day our room was left open by the staff. I was not pleased even though it was an error on housekeeping. My wife and I got piña coladas in the bar Echo. They were terrible. Large chunks of ice and no actual pineapple anywhere. Otherwise it was a nice place to stay. We enjoyed the golf and restaurants nearby. A bit pricey but a good experience.

Room Tip: Must have ocean front to enjoy the hotel. Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bucks45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Guest Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

I sincerely appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at King and Prince. I do apologize that your drinks did not meet your expectations and the room attendant left the door open. Your comments allow us to improve our service. We hope to welcome you back to King and Prince soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

760 - 766 of 1,312 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in a wonderful location. I was initially disappointed we couldn't stay on Jekyll Island but my experience at the King and Prince changed that. The hotel is beautiful, well maintained and the staff is exceptional (and I mean everyone from the desk staff to housekeeping!). Everything was fantastic for our girl's weekend away from stress. You'll get no complaints from this notoriously "high maintenance" girl!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Genie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Guest Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you so much for your recent visit to the King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort and for sharing your experience. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time at this family resort. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We were married here on the back lawn and it could not have been more perfect. Ruth Driggs, the wedding coordinator, assured everything was perfect and we had not a worry in the world knowing she had everything taken care of. The seafood buffet afterward in the solarium was just over the top. Everyone raved about how wonderful it was. I could not imagine a better spot to be married. All of our family stayed here and everyone loved how friendly and attentive the staff was. -The Stovalls

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Guest Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

We are so grateful that you enjoyed your wedding ceremony and reception at the hotel. It is satisfying to hear from guests such as yourselves that our efforts for exceeding guests expectations are appreciated. Thank you and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband and I we're walk ins on a very busy morning. The front desk staff was very helpful in finding us a room that suited our pocketbook! Other reviewers have spoken about the construction so I won't be repetitive. I will say, 'tho, when it is completed, it will be beautiful! We stayed on the fifth floor in the main building. Nice view. I think next time I'll opt for a "cabana" room in the historic wing !

Room Tip: Check out the property layout before booking because it is a large property with many options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xstemboatr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Guest Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay at the Resort. Thank you for writing this review and letting us know that you had a wonderful experience. The construction renovation will be finished in a few days and the hotel main lobby will look fantastic as well as the restaurant. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We visited this hotel in early Feb., 2014, and, unfortunately, had a horrible check out experience that left a very negative impression on us. As we were leaving the room we noticed that water was pouring down on our floor from upstairs due to maintenance washing down the 4th floor. The elevator was soaked with water as were the stairs, so we had no choice but to get drenched on the way out. When we mentioned this at the font desk they were not in the least helpful or apologetic.

When we returned home, we completed the e mail questionnaire regarding our visit , giving the hotel detailed specifics of what happened. We heard nothing from the hotel in the way of a response or apology. Finally, we went online and repeated our experience for the third time for the hotel . No response to date.

Any hotel can make mistakes , but only the well managed ones respond and correct the situation. To ignore customers who have legitimate complaints is inexcusable . I would never recommend this hotel to anyone unless they were willing to risk indifferent management from a so-called four star hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingprince, General Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Mr. T, I am glad we were finally able to connect by telephone and appreciate your understanding or the circumstances. As we discussed this is not the way we conduct business at the King and Prince as is evident by the many positive reviews we have and continue to get. In your case we did fall short and we look forward to having the ability to make that up to you in the future. Thank you once again for taking the time to share your comments in writing and over the phone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I recently visited the King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort for the first time. We arrived on a Friday afternoon, and when we went to check-in, we were asked if we would like an upgrade at no additional cost. We were shown our original room (which was fine), and then the "upgrade" - wow! We were put in the tower suite, and it was amazing. It was on two floors; you entered a vestibule which led to a living room/kitchen area with a comfortable sofa, chairs, bathroom, television, etc. When you climbed the flight of stairs, you discovered a semi-circular spacious bedroom with three lovely windows overlooking the beach (oceanfront, of course!), a beautiful bed, full bathroom, lovely furniture - the works! We immediately opened the windows, and enjoyed the sights, smells, and sounds of the ocean. We felt like we were on a second honeymoon!
The grounds of the resort were lovely, and the pool looked quite inviting even though the temperatures were in the 50s and 60s! There was plenty to do in and around St. Simon's Island, too.
I would heartily recommend the King and Prince Beach Resort.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Guest Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for being a recent guest at King and Prince! I truly appreciate your warm compliments and am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. We strive to offer our guests an extraordinary experience with warm hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed with family for a day trip to the island. Great room with super view. Staff was nice during check in. Noisy tenants above us sounded like they were moving furniture all night long. Should of called and complained. Let the desk know at check out and they didn't seem to care too much. Rooms were great, clean and comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Room 220 in the historic building has a nice view and easy beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6CPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Guest Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

I sincerely appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at King and Prince. I do apologize that the Frond Desk Agents were not more empathetic when told about the guest noise. We hope to welcome you back to King and Prince soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
6.1 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
599 reviews
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
793 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort

Address: 201 Arnold Rd, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4258
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: $177 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic ocean front resort on St Simons Island, Georgia features 195 guest rooms in a variety of buildings, room decor and views, including two and three bedroom villas and resort residences. Resort amenities include five oceanfront pools, a challenging 18 hole golf course, massage therapy at the Royal Treatment Cottage, complimentary fitness center, oceanfront dining, two clay tennis courts, Wi-Fi (wireless) technology and the beautiful beachfront of the Golden Isles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King And Prince Beach And Golf Hotel Saint Simons Island
King And Prince Beach Hotel
King Prince St Simons
King And Prince Resort
King And Prince Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing