We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular golf trip.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had 16 guys on a golf trip staying at the King and Prince Resort which is always a great place to stay. The Hampton Club was in marvelous shape with some of the best greens you will find anywhere. You visit the marsh on the front side along with a pond where alligators rest on the banks, hawks hunt for food and deer are seen almost every day. The golf gets serious on the back nine as you go out into the marsh for five holes with some of the most spectacular views you will ever see, so good it's hard to play golf. I see more wildlife every year and this was our 20th trip we. I didn't even mention the moss hanging in the trees on every hole and with four sets of tees you can take on as much course as you want. Rick and his staff do a spectacular job taking care of all your needs. If you love golf, you've got to go.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms have ocean views which are great and the villas are good for a family because they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fairways250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Public Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

We are so grateful that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and had a wonderful experience at the Hampton Club. It is satisfying to hear from guests such as yourselves that our efforts for exceeding guests expectations are appreciated. Thank you and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 1,275 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

We so looked forward to having our Thanksgiving dinner at the K/P. We are sorry to report that the entire experience was absolutely horrible. The food was served only warm...not hot. The wait staff appeared to be totally untrained. Our server, Deborah, was the worst waitress we have ever had anywhere. anytime. Example, my wife had to ask for coffee 4 times before she finally brought it. Another example...the bread was served after we finished the meal. It was so chilly in the room that we had to keep our coats on. We observed other diners having the same poor service problems that we had. For your info, our reservation was for 5pm.

Frank Coughlin

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Thank you for your frank comments regarding your experience over Thanksgiving. The service you received and the quality experience associated through the afternoon is inexcusapble and for that we humbly apologize. If you would like to contact me, the Director of Food and Beverage, I would like to find some way to make up for this poor experience. We have already taken the neccssary steps to ensure that this situation is not repeated by any server. Our Christmas dinner was very similar to Thanksgiving but due to observations like yours we were able to provide a much better holiday dinner.
Thank you for the opportunity to serve you and I hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Just returned from my favorite yearly golf trip with a truly great group. It was my 10th annual and as always, the staff at the resort went overboard to make us welcome and coddled. Staying in the North Villas is the way to go, the most comfortable beds on earth!!! The golf course and GM Rick Mattox made the trip flawless. It was the best prepared facility we play on and I am counting the days when we get to do it all over again next year! Rick, thanks for all you do, we can't wait to see you again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Public Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the King and Prince. We are proud of our Golf Course facility and are glad that you had a great experience paying golf. We look forward to see your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

St. Simons Island, GA is our favorite place & a stay at the King & Prince always is perfect. A wonderful resort w/impeccable service, rooms, & food. The fact that the resort is located directly on the Atlantic Ocean is a plus. Since it is one of the Historic Inns of America, the charm is superb.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Guest Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to write regarding your experience at our resort and am pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. We are so grateful for your kind words concerning the service of our staff as well as all the amenities that the hotel provides to our guests. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

On way back north after Thanksgiving decided to make midway stop and let traffic subside.On web King and Prince had super deal of room for 2 and golf at Hampton Club course. We booked 2 nights at 129$ per night.
We really enjoyed our stay at the King and Prince. The room was very and the staff was quite nice.
The golf course was in very good condition for December and the staff was attentive.
Saint Simons itself was delightful. We will look for another deal from King and Prince and thanks.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Guest Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent visit to the King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort and for sharing your experience. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time at this family resort. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

You will always enjoy your stay at this hotel. My wife and I simply love this place on the Ocean Front. Even though I did not play the Golf Course this year, I strongly recommend this beautiful course. The staff is always pleasant, and the management is great too. landscaping is beautiful, the rooms are clean and comfortable. Excellent stay!

Room Tip: I have stayed in different buildings each time. They are all nice. I have to say the extra money to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davisgkdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Public Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

We are so happy you and your wife had a great experience at the resort. It is a real pleasure serving guests such as yourselves and we are grateful for your kind words concerning The King and Prince Resort. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

St. Simons Island is one of my favorite places to go and The King and Prince is the best place to stay! I love being right on the beach. We just returned from a weekend at The King and Prince. The room was very clean and comfortable, as always. The staff was very kind and helpful. We were aware of the renovations before we came. This didn't affect our stay or our experience. I can't wait to see the complete renovations next year!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ctravel701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Guest Relations Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay at the Resort. Thank you for writing this review and letting us know that you had a wonderful experience. Next year the hotel main lobby will look fantastic as well as the restaurant. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.4 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
595 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
631 reviews
6.1 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
129 reviews
0.9 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
515 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort

Address: 201 Arnold Rd, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: $133 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic ocean front resort on St Simons Island, Georgia features 195 guest rooms in a variety of buildings, room decor and views, including two and three bedroom villas and resort residences. Resort amenities include five oceanfront pools, a challenging 18 hole golf course, massage therapy at the Royal Treatment Cottage, complimentary fitness center, oceanfront dining, two clay tennis courts, Wi-Fi (wireless) technology and the beautiful beachfront of the Golden Isles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King And Prince Beach And Golf Hotel Saint Simons Island
King And Prince Beach Hotel
King Prince St Simons
King And Prince Resort
King And Prince Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing