We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Vintage St. Simons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Sylvania, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Vintage St. Simons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in the St. Simons Suite at the King and Prince. Our room was spacious with a separate sitting area that overlooked the ocean. It was clean and comfortable, appropriately updated, but also decorated with pictures that depicted its history. The staff was friendly and very responsive to our needs. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cab73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    265
    104
    58
    28
See reviews for
282
395
26
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We had only stayed here once before 25 years ago and it would appear to have not been remodeled since. So dowdy we struggled to recall if it was that frumpy all along. The exterior of the buildings and the landscaping are nice but the rooms are cheaply decorated and the shower doesn't get hot enough on the full hot setting. Not a four star hotel- a Hyatt Place which is supposedly ranked lower is much much nicer than the K & P. There's hardly any beach and the indoor pool fills the restaurant area with a musty pool smell. Yuck.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knothomeeither
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have stayed at the King & Prince Resort several times. This weekend was a one night getaway with some girlfriends. We were looking for some "non-mommy time" and treated ourselves to an overnight stay. It was well worth the money (we got a great deal from Groupon) and the logistics of arranging for our families' needs while we would be gone. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. They even upgraded our room upon our arrival. The room was beautiful and comfortable and plenty big for four women and all our "stuff". We spent several hours the next morning, sipping our coffee and enjoying each others company, out by the pool and listening to the ocean. That alone was worth the short trip. One night at the King & Prince is all you need to rejuvenate yourself...I can only imagine what a week there could do for you! Can't wait to plan our next trip, this time maybe for more than one night!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cfpierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Front Office Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear cfpierce,

I am so happy your enjoyed The King and Prince as much as we all do! We definitely need to have you back for a longer stay so you can really enjoy all that we have to offer! Thank you for writing this review and letting us know that you had such a wonderful time. I am also delighted that we were able to upgrade you to a more conducive room type to fit your needs. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We are just now getting ready to check out after spending seven nights in a villa here at the K & P. We really enjoyed our stay -- it was exactly what we were looking for. There were 3 different generations of adults staying here, and we all found it to be just perfect.

The unit had a partial ocean view, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a huge living/dining room, and very large kitchen, washer/dryer, a small patio overlooking the water, etc., etc. The large flat-panel tv had a DVD player which we used to catch up on some movies we wanted to see. Our exhange student enjoyed the free wi-fi, and the skateboard park just a block away occupied him for many, many hours.

Don't miss the Village. We almost did and that would have been a shame. It is a delightful place to relax, sightsee, shop and dine.

The golf course is amazing, and I will write a separate review for that great amenity!

We especially liked the super-comfy bed linens which were very high quality, and felt so good to slip into each night.

The indoor pool was a big hit with the older member of our group, and while oddly located in the middle of the lobby, it was one reason we chose to stay here (to have an indoor pool in February is a necessity in our opinoin.) I hope with all the renovations going on that consideration is made to put a new indoor pool where it would be more appropriate, near the fitness room (perhaps take out one tennis court?)

We did not try the dining room since we love to cook while on vacation, and quite honestly there was nothing on the menu that called to us. We notice a new chef has recently come on board so perhaps some renovations to the food offerings are in the works soon?

The service was outstanding, and that is something that can really make or break a vacation. Congratulations to your team members for being so accommodating at all times.

Thanks so much for a lovely visit.

Juli and Walt Lederhaus

Room Tip: We loved the North Villa -- it had everything we needed. If you don't like to cook I imagine a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliLnWaltL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed an overnight stay here on our way to Florida this year. Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable with a nice ocean view. We ate at the tavern and enjoyed a light meal. The soup and chicken caesar salad were great. The staff were very accommodating with changes in reservations. We would definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bud S, Front Office Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Mark,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort on TripAdvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will make it back to this area and stay with us again. Hopefully you will be able to spend a little more time here next time! We appreciate your business and your kind words about the hotel and our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The King and the Prince Resort on St. Simons Island is a pleasant luxury hotel experience. Many rooms have a beautiful balcony view of the ocean as well as the pool lit with blue lights, The standard room comes with an oversized bed, and a sofa, an over-sized tv screen. Bathrooms are a touch small but workable. The hotel has a seafood restaurant that has good food but service is slow when they are busy. The hotel is undergoing renovation so check-in takes place in a temporary location and there is construction near the restaurant and indoor pool.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean-front room, don't assume you will automatically get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthGa
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stay at the King & Prince once a year - sometimes twice - and love the feel of the historic oceanfront building, especially the rooms with a balcony overlooking the surf. With special winter weekend rates, we took advantage of an opportunity to get away to a favorite locale. Quiet, peaceful and relaxing! The staff members were friendly and helpful, and the renovations (which didn't really cause any inconvenience or noise) will take care of some wear-and-tear issues that are needed. We didn't eat at the hotel (other than the little coffee kiosk in the lobby) but rather took advantage of several great seafood choices on the island. Had great massages in the Royal Treatment Cottage. Another relaxing stay at a Georgia gem!

Room Tip: Lots of options but spend a little more and get a balcony room in the historic oceanfront building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthGaTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.4 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#3 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
6.1 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
0.9 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#5 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort

Property: The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
Address: 201 Arnold Rd, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic ocean front resort on St Simons Island, Georgia features 195 guest rooms in a variety of buildings, room decor and views, including two and three bedroom villas and resort residences. Resort amenities include five oceanfront pools, a challenging 18 hole golf course, massage therapy at the Royal Treatment Cottage, complimentary fitness center, oceanfront dining, two clay tennis courts, Wi-Fi (wireless) technology and the beautiful beachfront of the Golden Isles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King And Prince Beach And Golf Hotel Saint Simons Island
King And Prince Beach Hotel
King Prince St Simons
King And Prince Resort
King And Prince Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing