We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Relaxing Winter Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
SouthGa
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Winter Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stay at the King & Prince once a year - sometimes twice - and love the feel of the historic oceanfront building, especially the rooms with a balcony overlooking the surf. With special winter weekend rates, we took advantage of an opportunity to get away to a favorite locale. Quiet, peaceful and relaxing! The staff members were friendly and helpful, and the renovations (which didn't really cause any inconvenience or noise) will take care of some wear-and-tear issues that are needed. We didn't eat at the hotel (other than the little coffee kiosk in the lobby) but rather took advantage of several great seafood choices on the island. Had great massages in the Royal Treatment Cottage. Another relaxing stay at a Georgia gem!

Room Tip: Lots of options but spend a little more and get a balcony room in the historic oceanfront building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthGaTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    270
    105
    59
    28
See reviews for
285
405
26
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dunwoody, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Even though we have been in Georgia for 25 years, we had never been to St Simon's Island. In January, we took advantage of some special offers, and stayed two nights at the King and Prince. Our room was in the Ocean Front Building, and had an excellent view. I felt it was an exceptional room for the money. It was very clean and extremely comfortable.
We ate our first night's meal in the King's Tavern. We were seated by the windows which fill that end of the room, and had a perfect view of the water.
The service was fast and friendly, and the food was excellent. They went the extra mile for us. An example: I was disappointed to hear that the kitchen was out of Blue Cheese Dressing for my salad, but was delighted to find that the chef had made some for me. Nice!, and, it was terrific.
I ordered the Chicken Cassoulet. Now, in a former life, I traveled all over the world, and have had many cassoulets in France. This was one of the tastiest meals I have had in a long time. Easily the equal or better of what I have enjoyed in France. A fantastic taste. I asked the waitress to pass my admiration to the chef. When he came out to see us, I found he had only been there for ten days. So, the kitchen is undergoing a rebuild, along with the rest of the hotel. Well done, an excellent job of hiring.
Expect some construction and inconvenience for a short while. However, it did not bother us at all.
This was a delightful place to stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for the Ocean Front Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dohrmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the K&P in July and found both our room and the restaurant subpar. We stayed in the Oglethorpe building and it was dirty and worn. We noticed several bugs climbing across the walls and floors...not sure what they were but made me nervous enough to sleep with the lights on and stay fully clothed just in case. Certainly not what you would expect for the $200+ a night we paid!

The restaurant was also worn and outdated and our server honestly looked like a crack addict. My husband had the shrimp and grits which was lumpy and bland and only four shrip...not good and overpriced!

We did complain about the state of our room when we checked out and the front desk person said she would be happy to give us a discount however because we booked through Expedia, she couldn't. So I guess it was my fault! Why not offer us complimentary breakfast or something else! Anyways, this is the one and only time we will vist Saint Simons as we are from Western Canada and its unlikely we will be visiting again - sad that this was our only experience of what could have been a beautiful stay on a beautiful island.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolAnnHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingprince, General Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent Trip Advisor Review of your visit to the King and Prince this past summer. We are very disappointed that your first visit to our beautiful island did not go as it should have. We do apologize for the challenges you experienced with your accommodation and in our dining room and promise to address them with the appropriate department heads. We are proud of our property and as the second highest rated property on St. Simons Island it is obvious your experience is the exception and not the rule. However we know we are not perfect and appreciate the fact you took the time to give us your evaluation so we can work on those areas that will help us improve the guest experience for our future guests. Our hope is that your future travels could bring you back to St. Simons and the King and Prince so we can make it up to you and your husband.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiawassee, Georgia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We are long time devotees of the K&P. We rented a villa in the South wing for the whole month of January. Surprised but delighted that the hotel is undergoing substantial renovations. New tile roof, new lobby/checkin. The K&P is making YET ANOTHER return to her spelndor. Devotees will remember the full makeover a decade and a half ago. Rooms at the Hotel were renovated a few years ago, so now we are in the MAJOR stages. PRAISE BE to the owners!

Room Tip: Just don't stay in the "historic" section". Sayin
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDStovall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingprince, Front Office Manager at The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Mr. &Mrs. Stovall,
Thank you so much for your recent visit to the King and Prince and especially for taking the time to write such a wonderful Trip Advisor Review. Please know that we appreciate all your kind words but most importantly your continued patronage. We are proud to share your review with each and every one of our staff members. It is an honor and a privilege to serve you and we look forward to your next visit when you can enjoy the results of our current renovation project.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had a very relaxing week-end at the King and Prince. Accommodations were clean and comfortable. Because it was January we had no high tide problem. Beach is easy to walk. Would definately return for another stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here for the first time last fall and loved it. When we got an email from them offering us their winter specials we jumped at it. We were offered an oceanfront room at a wonderful price so we made reservations from 1/10/2013-1/13/2013. It was winter so we did not expect much as far as weather was concerned but we just wanted to stay at the hotel again since we enjoyed it so much the first time. As luck would have we had an Indian winter and it was sunny and in the 70s the whole time we were there. The beach was packed which just made the trip that much better. A great hotel and beautiful weather in January is hard to beat. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Oceanfront bldg top floor is hard to beat
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freddygaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yulee, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We only live an hour away. But got a room and surprised my husband for Christmas. Loved, loved this resort and, the service was impeccable. The food in the restaurant was really good. We will be back and bring our family with us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.4 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#3 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
6.1 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#2 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.9 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#5 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort

Property: The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
Address: 201 Arnold Rd, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4258
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic ocean front resort on St Simons Island, Georgia features 195 guest rooms in a variety of buildings, room decor and views, including two and three bedroom villas and resort residences. Resort amenities include five oceanfront pools, a challenging 18 hole golf course, massage therapy at the Royal Treatment Cottage, complimentary fitness center, oceanfront dining, two clay tennis courts, Wi-Fi (wireless) technology and the beautiful beachfront of the Golden Isles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King And Prince Beach And Golf Hotel Saint Simons Island
King And Prince Beach Hotel
King Prince St Simons
King And Prince Resort
King And Prince Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing