We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“If you want beachfront on the Georgia coast...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you want beachfront on the Georgia coast...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We are from Colorado and wanted to spend a few days on the Georgia coast with an ocean view and ocean sounds. We also wanted a beach community that was attractive - but not stuffy. The K&P on St. Simons was a bullseye. I had read on Trip Advisor that the staff is exceptionally friendly; I heartily agree. We also played a round of golf, and although the course is a 20 minute drive, it was absolutely worth it. Three of the holes are "islands" in the marshes. Beautiful! (Dad, Mom and two kids in their twenties.)

Room Tip: Our 2 br condo was ocean front in the South Villas. Postcard view of the pool area and the ocean bey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    259
    101
    58
    28
See reviews for
276
392
26
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the ocean view rooms over the pool to the custom made to order buffet breakfast...this
hotel is worth every penny! The berach is super clean and not crowded. The pools are clean and inviting. Lots of places to relax and watch the waves roll in. Staff is super nice and welcoming. There is a hole in the wall BBQ joint right outside the hotel gates...you would be crazy to not stop in and partake! Cannot say enough nice things about this property. Wonderful experience both times I have stayed.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms that ovewrlook the pools are ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kermit4655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We visited St. Simons Oct 28-30th. I've been to St. Simons before but my boyfriend had not. I wanted to stay at the King and Prince and got a great rate for the 2 nights. The resort is beautiful, clean, romantic and has great ocean views. We stayed in the oceanfront building and it was spacious, clean and the view from our room was exceptional.

Unfortunately on my first night I got very sick in the middle of the night. My bf contacted the front desk for directions to the local hospital. The front desk attendant printed out directions for him and also inquired as to whether I needed an ambulance. He assured him I didn't. I spent 3 hours in the emergency room with apparent food poisoning and/or dehydration. Let me assure everyone if it was food poisoning I did not get it from the King & Prince restaurants because we had not eaten there.

When I returned to the resort the next morning, I had a message from the concierge inquiring about my health and asking what if anything they could do for me. I really appreciated their concern...which was very genuine. They sent me up a six pack of diet ginger ale (as I requested) and a wonderful card.

Unfortunately my last day was mostly spent resting and I felt bad because my boyfriend did not get to enjoy our last day there. But again I enjoyed my time there despite the illness and plan to return in the future. The staff is gracious, attentive and overall I have to give the King and Prince 5 stars. As they say "heaven on earth!"

Room Tip: You can't beat the oceanfront building for great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaGirl1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a fabulous stay here for a couple of nights and stayed in the awesome cabana rooms. Our room was in the historic section on the ground floor with doors leading out to our own little sitting area with the ocean right there! Down a couple steps and you are walking along the beach or sitting in a swing. We ate dinner in the Kings Tavern oceanfront and were treated to a full moon coming up over the ocean! We stayed here on our honeymoon 48 years ago, and it was wonderful then and it is now! Beautiful resort with top notch southern hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohsouthernlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

One of the jewels in the Golden Isles of Georgia....Spanish moss hangs from the trees as you drive up to the resort. There are cottages for rent, condos and an updated section to stay in, but I highly recommended in staying in the old, original resort room - it will make you feel like a Vanderbilt! The wedding was in October, on the beach; the reception on the lawn just in front of the King's Tavern Restaurant, and we all spent the night barefoot drinking, dining and dancing! The most attentive staff and beautiful accommodations you can find along a beautiful stretch of the Southeast Atlantic seacoast! Oh, and if you're a golfer, then this place is heaven on earth for you!

Room Tip: Something for everyone: from cottages and condos to intimate, bed & breakfast size rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The King & Prince is a beautiful, old island hotel. I love the historic section, as well as the oceanfront section, and have stayed in both. My recent trip was a king oceanfront room in the historic building, with a balcony and a gorgeous ocean view. The grounds are beautifully kept, spacious, several pools, beautiful views. Now the downsides: Our room had a terribly uncomfortable and squeaky mattress. There was only one chair in the room, so an extra person had to sit on the (uncomfortable) bed. The bathroom was spacious, but no shelves for your own toiletries. We moved the ice bucket and glasses to the room desk to make more room on the bathroom counter. The balcony chairs are uncomfortable, and our balcony neighbor was a smoker...YUK. Their smoke blew right up my nose. I wish the hotel would ban smoking on the entire property. The indoor pool and hot tub were not heated, as they should have been. We reported the issue, but it was not repaired during our stay. We hiked over to the condo area to use the hot tub there, but it is not convenient to the hotel area. The breakfast buffet is very good, but I think it is over priced. The K & P throws out a great rate for oceanfront rooms on occasion, and it's worth a visit when they have a discounted rate, usually fall and winter. Yes, I will stay here again, when there is a discounted rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a new mattress, and a non-smoking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njm54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here from Oct 23 to 25 2012. We were in the beach apartment block and when we walked into our room our spirits lifted. It was well set up but the best thing was the end wall of glass leading onto a balcony overlooking the sea. An wonderful view from which we could see the dawn come up snd the sunsets and the huge ships coming up the channel to Brunswick. Stunning.

Room Tip: We stayed in the beach block - briilant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.4 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#3 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
6.1 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
0.9 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#5 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort

Property: The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
Address: 201 Arnold Rd, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic ocean front resort on St Simons Island, Georgia features 195 guest rooms in a variety of buildings, room decor and views, including two and three bedroom villas and resort residences. Resort amenities include five oceanfront pools, a challenging 18 hole golf course, massage therapy at the Royal Treatment Cottage, complimentary fitness center, oceanfront dining, two clay tennis courts, Wi-Fi (wireless) technology and the beautiful beachfront of the Golden Isles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King And Prince Beach And Golf Hotel Saint Simons Island
King And Prince Beach Hotel
King Prince St Simons
King And Prince Resort
King And Prince Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing