We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a relaxing family getaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

This was our first trip to St. Simons and it won't be our last. The King and Prince was a wonderful place to stay at. Great value considering the gorgeous view from our room, nice but not over the top amenities and very good service. We have a three year old daughter and she really enjoyed the pool and beach. The hotel is very nice but not too stuffy to bring the kids. Good staff and the service and food were better than expected especially at the pool. Location was close to local restaurants and parks (try Southern Soul BBQ). Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kb1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,006 - 1,012 of 1,290 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

Hubby and I stayed there recently for a business conference, so we received a group rate.
We arrived to the Island early, but we were unable to check in early. However, I did ask to see if it were possible to be upgraded to oceanfront room (because when I reserved rooms, the best we could get was oceanview). When we arrived to check in later, they gave us a free upgrade to an oceanfront room (yay!) And it was gorgeous! Ask for room #301. You will feel like the ocean is in your room. We slept with the doors open and the sound of the surf was very relaxing...
The room was very large, with a large bathroom. The furnishings were very nice. If I had to complain about one thing... the bed was a little too high up for an older person to get to.
My only other complaint was because were enjoying the room so much, we decided to order breakfast via room service our first morning and asked for a 730-800 delivery window, as our conference was starting at 830. Well, I called around 750 to check, was told it was on the way,, but it did not arrive until 810. To top it off, the bill was incorrect, so we had to wait for our waiter to return with a correct bill.
All in all, it was a very good experience and we will return. The remodeled pool area looks inviting, but it was too cool to enjoy in April.

Room Tip: Ask for room 301!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tuckercal34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This is a hotel which still remembers what a hotel should be. Right on the beach, which most rooms having at least a partial beach view. Free wifi, rooms very clean, good food, good friendly service, great location, classic decor.

Room Tip: The better rooms are in the new section overlooking the pools and the beach. Rooms in the older sect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Traveling through Georgia and stopped at the Welcome Center for the Golden Islands of Georgia. The lady at the desk suggested that we eat brunch at the King and the Prince. One of the best suggestions ever! Amazing meal, one of the best brunches I have ever had! Fried chicken, Sunday roast, mac and cheese (that my husband said was the best he has ever had) meatloaf, ham and then all the wonderful Southern side dishes! Plus the eggs, bacon, etc. Also had a dessert buffet -- the Pecan Bread Pudding was a religious experience. All this for $21 PER PERSON! Magnificant shrimp and grits -- just go -- you won't believe how great the food is!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We recently stayed in the villas. The location is great, but the rooms are in bad shape and unclean. Examples: Card key was "tempermental", windows in master bedroom didn't open, fan in master bedroom didn't work, sliding door to balcony was very dificult to open and nearly came off the track, patio furniture was too dirty to sit on, windows were filthy, carpet hasn't been cleaned in a while (yuck!). Need to pay attention to details.

All this for twice the price of most hotels. Not a good value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FredC090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

As St. Simons locals, the King & Prince was selected by my wife and I for a recent weekend "staycation". This proved to be the perfect break that we needed as parents of a young child. Despite less that perfect weather during our stay, everything at the King & Prince was exemplary. Our couples massage in the hotel's Royal Treatment Cottage quickly allowed us to forget about the weather and enjoy our break from the real world. We were especially pleased to see the wonderful improvements to the hotel's tropical beachside pool. With more rain in the forecast, we opted to enjoy dinner in the hotel's "King's Tavern" restaurant...our selections were both very good and we were happy to return to our room and enjoy the sound of the crashing surf from our oceanfront window.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I always enjoy my business trip to the King and Prince. We always have great rooms and nice meeting rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.4 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
597 reviews
6.1 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,259 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
518 reviews
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
141 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort

Address: 201 Arnold Rd, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-4258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: $145 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic ocean front resort on St Simons Island, Georgia features 195 guest rooms in a variety of buildings, room decor and views, including two and three bedroom villas and resort residences. Resort amenities include five oceanfront pools, a challenging 18 hole golf course, massage therapy at the Royal Treatment Cottage, complimentary fitness center, oceanfront dining, two clay tennis courts, Wi-Fi (wireless) technology and the beautiful beachfront of the Golden Isles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King And Prince Beach And Golf Hotel Saint Simons Island
King And Prince Beach Hotel
King Prince St Simons
King And Prince Resort
King And Prince Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing