We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sea Gate Inn
Nearby Hotels
$209
$159
Home2.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus St. Simons(Saint Simons Island)(Great Value!)
$146
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island(Saint Simons Island)(Great Value!)
$149
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Sea Island(Saint Simons Island)
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Lodge(Saint Simons Island)
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$279
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grey Owl Inn(Saint Simons Island)
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Village Inn and Pub(Saint Simons Island)
$183
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge at Sea Island(Saint Simons Island)
$521
$494
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
115
37
10
6
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
37
10
6
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswasher dryeracross the streetpremium suiteocean viewwalk in showerclear glassliving roomfull kitchensmall kitchenjetted tubtile floorseasy access to beachrental propertytwo burner stovebeautiful condofront officebike rentals
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 184 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

What I thought would be the start of a special, long vacation for us (our 45th Anniversary) and our stressed out, overworked daughter turned into a nightmare.

Having made the drive from Orlando, eager to relax & enjoy St. Simons for 2 nite's before continuing on our trip to North Carolina, we learned our reservation wasn't as requested. This quickly became a Seinfeld episode!

Though Ron at the desk tried his best to assist, our requested & 'reserved' top floor, oceanfront room was not available: all those we're occupied! In checking our original reservation made in mid-July, Ron wondered why 'Dennis' hadn't assigned the room right away.

Ron found a room he was sure we'd "be comfortable" in. Too bad it was on the first floor, side view of roof tops. When I asked about the price adjustment for this change, Ron said there was none!?!

Upon seeing the room, I immediately gave Ron my card & asked for a refund. He understood, apologized more than once for the error (wasn't his fault, tho) and processed the credit.

Then we spent the next 9 hrs. trying to find lodging along I-95 and U.S. Rt. 17 that could accomodate us for two nights & be a second choice 'start' to our special time. The height of tourist season didn't allow many choices. Most places were booked, esp. on Fri. nite.

A very long, frustrating & fatiguing story made short: we plowed on to our final destination of Ocean Isle Beach, NC where through great fortune there was a room available at the Ocean Isle Inn. The staff there couldn't have been more helpful, professional & personable. It was greatly appreciated at 11 p.m. after such an arduous & disappointing day.


  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gergiebru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a 4th of July stay at the Sea Gate Inn. The location is perfect-about halfway between the village and Massengale park, so it is a short walk to most restaurants, bars, etc. The room itself was spacious and very nicely decorated. The staff was mostly friendly and we had no real problems. SGI is certainly not a resort, but if you're looking for a nice, quiet place to relax this is it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jizdiz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Management is the best. Their rooms are so clean. We have stayed with them three times and each time has been wonderful. The ocean views are super. I cannot say enough nice things about these folks. Super, super friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelia_H550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Can't say enough good about the resort ! Wanda and Ron the property managers went above and beyond to make us feel right at home. They were so friendly and helped us find places to eat and things to do while in St. Simons Island. The room was beautiful ! Bed was very comfortable .... Can't wait to return and stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloryHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews