We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW Loved this relaxing weekend”
Review of The Sea Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sea Gate Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2011

My husband and I spent the weekend at the Sea Gate Inn. It's clean, modern and all the comforts of home. We will definitely be back. The view of the ocean while sitting on the terrace was great. The local town and delicious restuarants help make the long weekend complete. I would recommend this place. I can't wait to go back.

Lori Hendrix, Orlando Fl.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank likecleanhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for The Sea Gate Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 178 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2011

We just returned from a few days at The Sea Gate Inn. We arrived three hours before check-in time and were able to get into our suite. We had a deluxe king room, it was very tastefully decorated and extremely clean. The kitchen was small and when booking we should have realized there wasn't an oven, but we made out fine cooking on the stove. The bed was comfortable and my daughter said the pull out sofa was comfortable as well. We loved sitting on the balcony in the morning and evening, the oceanview was fantastic. I was a little disappointed to learn there was no beach until very late in the day when the tide was out but we found a nice spot on East Beach at the end of a dead end road that was very private. The pool was sparkling clean and had it to ourselves the entire stay. When I return to St Simons Island, I will stay here again, it is fantastic!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iloveItalyUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

I like everything esp. the management.. A guy Ron Aco over there is such a nice person that u can't even imagine.. If u are looking for a really nice place on the beach with all the lastest stuff, awesome cleanliness, awesome view, and comparively low prices, then its the place.. i loved it and visiting again on june 10th Weekend!

Cheers,
Karam

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karam1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Absolutely incredibly wonderful. We will most definitely come back. The ocean view room is worth more than what they charge for it. The rooms (more like suites) are super-clean, very modern. The furniture is so comfortable. Even details like the fancy flooring and molding made a big impression on me.

There's nothing quite like laying in bed and hearing and seeing the ocean waves crash outside your 6 bedroom windows.

Great water pressure, free wifi with solid reception all through-out. There are about 73 channels available from comcast including local channels. HVAC in the room works very well. Eating on the balcony was so fun.

Another detail that was impressive was that the doors from room to room in the suites are real, thick, solid doors. They don't mess around go the cheap route. This place is amazing and their website doesn't do it justice.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

My fiance made the reservations to stay and Sea Gate Inn and what a wonderful stay we had. The weekend we stayed he had planed out our proposal. The staff at the Sea Gate were wonderful with our accommodations! We stayed in the King Suite Premium. The room was clean and large.The pictures on the website are up to date. In the mornings you could wake up to the sound of the ocean. We will defiantly be planning another trip to this hotel at some point!!! We also loved that it was away from the main flow of things but not far enough that you could not be there in minutes. The only tip we have is that some of the window shades in the bed room would not stay closed, but this was not a big deal.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TakeUsThere2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

I booked this hotel based on reviews from trip advisor and am so glad I trusted the overwhelmingly positive reviews. This place is amazing, every suite is loaded with every amenity you can imagine! I was traveling to St. Simon's on vacation with my boyfriend and we had an amazing stay here. Watch out, they are not very lenient when it comes to late check outs, however, the staff did try to accommodate us as best as they could. The pool is great, you can walk to the town and pier and the ocean is right outside your window! Incredibly clean, luxurious and quiet which is exactly what we were looking for. A+!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elgross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the new Sea Gate Inn over Labor Day weekend 2010. For the most part, we very much enjoyed our stay. The suite was comfortable, updated, and very spacious. We booked a Premium suite, so we had a balcony that looked directly out onto the ocean, and we could hear the waves crashing onto the shore from inside the room as well (please note that the Inn is not ON the beach, but across the street and an empty lot - this did not trouble us or our view at all). While the pool was small and in the shade for part of the day, it certainly fit our purposes. We enjoyed the location, which was a short bike ride or car trip to the Village and/or King and Prince area for restaurants, shopping, etc.

The downside for us was the staff; the manager was not very friendly, and she seemed a little taken aback by questions. The maid service was also lacking, as the room was not very thoroughly cleaned, and if you were in the room when they wanted to clean (even if you told them it would only be 10 minutes), they just left a bag of towels and did not return.

Overall, we enjoyed the Sea Gate Inn and will plan to return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoneymoonJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Simons Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
590 reviews
0.6 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
514 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
Best Western Plus St. Simons
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
114 reviews
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Inn and Suites
Ocean Inn and Suites
#9 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Gate Inn

Address: 1015 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-5007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: $142 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sea Gate Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious new hotel-condominium suites! Each 1 bedroom, 1 bath residence offers a full kitchen, modern decor, large balconies, and gorgeous spa-like baths. Hotel amenities, such as daily housekeeping included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelClick and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sea Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sea Gate Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing