We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Home I would want to have.”
Review of Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Home I would want to have.”
Reviewed January 31, 2011

I surprised my boyfriend with a weekend stay at Ocean's Lodge. I wanted to find something a little out of the ordinary for this little vacation. I was blown away with the pictures on the Ocean's Lodge website. I didn't realize such a jewel was right within driving distance of Jacksonville, FL. Let me say the pictures did not relay the true beauty of this place. It's an Italian mansion, seaside. Stunning! The suite was so comfortable with his and her separate bathrooms, a huge covered balcony with ocean views, granite countertops, comfortable & beautiful furniture, kitchen amenities, jacuzzi tub in my bathroom and a full shower in his. And that bed ! Oh My... that awesome bed ! The staff was so very helpful from finding my childhood home for me in Brunswick, Georgia to suggesting the Trolley Tour of the Island. Every comfort of home was right there. We chose to grab dinner each night and take it back to our suite because just being together in that cozy atmosphere was more important to us than going out. It was simply Heaven on St. Simon's Island. I cannot say anything negative about this place. I wish every friend could spend time there and experience what I have.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPurnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    58
    21
    10
    9
See reviews for
44
419
10
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

My husband and I booked our stay through Sniqueaway and it was a wonderful choice! When we checked in, we were taken to our suite and shown all that was available. Our third floor suite was amazing. Each suite is different and has beautiful Tuscan style art work. The suite includes two bathrooms, a kitchen, bedroom, balcony, and living room. Breakfast each morning was well prepared, great choices, and leisurely. Jackie, a staff member, was friendly, efficient, and welcoming. The owner Joe visited with us during breakfast the second morning and he was a pleasure to have time to tell us about the lodge being built. The restaurant is on the fifth floor, but it was closed during our visit. The restaurant has a full moon party once a month and we missed that by one day. The lodge is not oceanfront but on the other side of the street; howver, the suite still provides an ocean view from the balcony. I look forward to going again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank U2andme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Coean Lodge is a beautiful, small resort--elaborate Mediterranean architecture and interiors (lots of art in rooms and public spaces) with an incredible bed, jacuzzi tub, comfortable living/dining/kitchen and fantastic staff. Our only criticism is of the view (view of buildings across the street) and the restaurant (over priced and cold food resulting from the kitchen being on the first floor and dining room on the 5th floor). However, the breakfast was among the best ever! Fortunately the breakfast room is off the lobby and next door to the kitchen! Restaurant on the Island are fantastic, so don't worry about dinner in the restaurant, but don't miss breakfast! We went to a great community theatre production.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlancaster3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

The Ocean Lodge is innovative and unique, as it is designed along the lines of a villa in Tuscany by the owner of the hotel. His name is Joe and he is a kind and gracious man. The staff are excellent too, they make you feel at home. Each suite is lovely and elegant and sooo... comfortable. The king sized bed was like sleeping on air, but very supportive. The kitchen in each suite is also appreciated. And the huge balcony with a view of the moon shining on the water was magical. We didn't want to leave, amid the beauty of the place. There is artwork that is stunning, and the interior walls are hand painted with different designs. The 5th floor serves as the restaurant/bar, and there is a wrap around balcony to enjoy the view. I could easily live in one of the suites. Felt like home to me, but with beautiful robes, slippers, and 600 thread count sheets. This lodge is a no miss. We enjoyed riding the bikes provided by Ocean Lodge, as we rode along the water around the lighthouse and took in the view of downtown St. Simons with the great shops, restaurants, and bookstore. The trees there are awesome. I wanted to hug each and every one. Can't wait to go back. This experience makes me want to move there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We are local residents having lived the majority of our lives on the island. We recently spent the night to enjoy a birthday. We have visited and enjoyed the Ocean Lounge (the rooftop bar and restaurant) and thought it would be fun to spend the night. We were in room 401 which is on the 4th floor and on the corner (the Ocean Lounge occupies the 5th floor). The room was very elegant with high end furnishings and decor, but at the same time very comfortable. We had a lovely, large balcony with chairs, a table and a lounge. Even for locals, the view was breathtaking! The bed was SO comfortable - it enveloped you in comfort and the bed linens were very fine. All of the amenities in the room were great - a DVD player, stereo with built-in speakers and two flat screen high def televisions (one for the bedroom and one for living room). All of the fixtures throughout were of the highest quality. The wood work and doors were also very nice. Everything just "fit" from the way room was put together (you know how sometimes doors don't fit in the frame or cabinet drawers are crooked - not at OL).

The staff was very warm and welcoming. Jackie checked us in and Matthew was also on duty while we were there - both very friendly and genuine.

All brides out there considering a destination wedding should really consider the Ocean Lodge - there's a brick area where weddings are held and also a lovely green garden. The pool area and outside would also be a great spot for the ceremony and certainly the reception. Brides - put this on your to do list and check it out before committing some place else. The Ocean Lodge is SO romantic and intimate - I know you'd be pleased.

Again, we are locals and are so happy to have such a great place here on the island. We will certainly recommend it to friends coming to visit. Worth mentioning - the Ocean Lounge is a must see when visiting our area. The atmosphere is "hip" and not the usual flip flop and t-shirt place (which we enjoy, but it's nice to have an option) and the views and furnishings beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RayRay777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We took advantage of a special offer through Snique Away. This hotel is worth every penny. I booked the room for 2 nights, thinking that my wife would especially like the furnishings. She absolutely loved them, taking pictures over the course of our stay.

The decor throughout the hotel is stunning, from floor to ceilings - especially the ceilings in the lobby/breakfast area. The furniture and decor in the room is just as stunning, with the perfect mix of Old World and modern. Not all pieces are antique, but fit well in the room. The tables, desk, chairs and bed are all unique and eye-catching. The kitchen area has a nice tile backsplash reminiscent of Italy, but is appointed with a smooth cooktop, dishwasher, fridge and a Keurig coffee machine (one minor glitch - a lack of a variety of K-cups while we were there).

There are two bathrooms in each room. The first is described as the Gentleman's, and comes with a stand-up glass-door shower. Nicely tiled, could have been just a tad larger. The second bath is the Lady's and has a nice 6-foot long tub/shower jacuzzi.

The bed was on the soft side - perfect for my wife. I prefer a more firm mattress, but slept well nonetheless. The bedroom has a flat-screen TV, a bit smaller than the one in the living room area.

All the staff were extremely nice and helpful. Matthew welcomed us upon our arrival. He told us that the hotel had been taken over during December by the cast of the upcoming X-Men movie - filming was being done on nearby Jekyll Isalnd. William served us breakfast each morning, always with a smile. Choices included apple pancakes, a ham, cheese/French toast type of sandwich, bacon/cheese fritatta and more. Southern touches included grits with cheese and almond milk. We always had our fill at breakfast - very nice. We did not have dinner at the restaurant on the 5th floor, but the selection looked enticing. Entrees were typically in the $25 - $30 range. We did stop in on our last night and had a chocolate martinin (very good) and their Creme Brulee Triage - a mix of vanilla and chocolate creme brulee. Ann and Kevin were also helpful during our stay, as well as the hotel manager and others.

We tried to use the fitness room during our first morning there. Discovered that the elliptical machine was missing a couple of screws in the main post and was unusable. My wife switched to one of the two treadmills, then the reumbent bike. I used both treadmills. All the fitness equipment is of moderate quality. Could use an update/upgrade, although we understand that most people do not work out much during vacations. The VERY small pool (about 6' wide x 10' long) has a machine to simulate "swimming". It was not in use during the cold weather - unsure if it is heated.

The temps while we were visitng were colder than average, which limited our time on the patios, outdoor restaurant, etc, but it only made us resolve to go back when it's warmer.

Our room was on the 2nd floor, and we didn't have as nice a view of the ocean as the rooms above us. They typically charge $100 more per floor as you make your way up, with the 5th floor Penthouse suite costing as much as $700/night.

The location is nice, and its a short drive to the quaint village shops or other local stores and restaurants (try the #1 rated Blackwater Grill).

My wife remarked that the Ocean Lodge was the best hotel she's ever stay at, and I wholeheartedly agree. We are already making plans on a return trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2011

The king suite is opulant and nothing has been forgotten. Everything from the Kuerig coffee maker to the Bulgari soap has been thought of... even a candle for your bubble bath in the oversized Jacuzzi tub. Really nice linens on the bed and pillows, pillows, pillows! The staff was very professional, friendly and gracious. We really enjoyed the made to order breakfast each morning as well. Really nice touch. The Ocean Lodge has the best of everything!

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wonder06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.5 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
511 reviews
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
115 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
6.4 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#4 of 9 in Jekyll Island
720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Inn and Suites
Ocean Inn and Suites
#9 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge

Property: Ocean Lodge
Address: 935 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-5014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is nestled in the Golden Isles of Georgia, just steps from the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. Stunning architecture ignites your passion for Old World beauty and continues to unveil itself with impeccable detail throughout your stay. Ideally located a mere whisper from the heart of quaint St. Simons Island, this unique boutique hotel awaits your arrival! Whether delighting the luxury-seeking vacationer, providing a refreshing change for corporate retreats, or dazzling wedding guests with spectacular rooftop receptions, this special place will be uniquely yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing