We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where the heart of SSI resides!”
Review of Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lookout Mountain, GA
1 review
“Where the heart of SSI resides!”
Reviewed February 27, 2010

I recently had one of the best trips to St Simons Island and it was all due to the #1 southern hospitality of the Ocean Lodge. From the room to the restuarant to the hometown feel, I truely was treated like family at the Ocean Lodge. Thank You! Cant wait to visit again soon.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lookoutmtn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    57
    21
    10
    9
See reviews for
43
413
10
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
northern Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

My wife and I were married there in May 2009. What an incredible experience...the room was decadent, the food sensational, and even though the weather was a freaky, week-long rainstorm event, the staff helped us find fun things to do and see in the gloomy weather. This stay was worth every penny we paid,,,and gave us a wedding that we loved.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank localandorganicpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta GA
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2010

I am just now getting around to letting trip advisor know that the ocean lodge on St Simons island is indeed a hidden gem. My fiancee and I will be getting married there on labor day weekend and our guest will have the run of the entire place, but please dont let that stop you from checking it out. The food is magnificent, the service is exceptional and the accomadations are indescribable. I am an educated man but the words that give justice to my experience escape me right now. Upon arrival, William, one of the friendliest front desk agents on earth, greeted us and took our bags upstairs to the room. Everything was so comfortable that once settled, I watched the news on one of the two large flat screen televisions, and fell asleep fully clothed on the oversized bed in the master suite. After a nap, we hit the town and decided to come back for creme brule, prepared by chef Mike - just because we mentioned we liked it - Next, Joe, the owner of the place came an chatted it up with us like we were old friends and made us feel right at home. Planning an event can be very stressful, but Tina Harris, the on site events coordinator puts you so much at ease that you almost forget what you were so stressed about. In short, everything about this place was great, the locale, the people, the food, the service, the food, and did I mention the food. There is a restaurant on the upper level of ocean lodge and if you get the chance you should definitely pay a visit, if you arent hungry, you will still enjoy the panoramic ocean views and the friendly atmosphere. I gotta run, but my obvious recommendation, is GET TO THE OCEAN LODGE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. There wonderful customer service and attention to detail will be a treat the you wont soon forget! Eric and Argenail

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paradiseque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Our stay at the Ocean Lodge was really enjoyable. It combined the intimacy of a B & B with the polish you expect from an upscale establishment. Although it has been around for a few years, the facility is spotless - we felt like we were the first to use our rooms. The staff were both warm and attentive. The food never disappointed. We especially enjoyed the breakfasts - they are well worth getting up for. Few places offer visitors such contrast as St. Simon's does, with activities to keep busy and be entertained as well as plenty of opportunities for privacy and quiet. If you are visiting the Island, stay here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptDanAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Our experience is that Ocean Lodge is ran like a B&B/ Inn, front desk person wears all the hat's. Not a 4 or 5 start boutique hotel for sure! Lacking greatly in professional staff, no valet, no "butler" service, no room service. Our greatest disappointment the Sweetheart dinner, Chef Michael may have originally prepared, but we feel it was a re-heated meal by our waiter/bartender. The setting not as pictured on internet, but instead a bar setting with glass top tables, no ambience, staff dressed in polo shirts. My husband's comment ~we were "hood winked." Paid 290.00 for cold re-heated food, a rose and a glass of 7.00 a bottle sparkling wine. We could have stayed at the finest -Sea Island Cloister for the same monies, to bad we didn't know of The Cloister first.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ListeningArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2010

I felt transported to the Mediterranean when my fiance and I entered the hotel. There is a careful attention to beautiful details in every corner, and it's obvious the goal is to welcome and pamper each guest. The staff was kind and helpful, the breakfast was delicious, and the view was peaceful. I can honestly say this was one of the nicest hotels I've ever been to!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmcphilimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Simons
2 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2010

My husband and I decided to get away for a night to relax and the Ocean Lodge is just the place to go. The decor of the hotel is just amazing, you'll not see anything else like it on the Island. The staff were very friendly and professional, the food and drinks were fantastic. It was the perfect place to go to get away. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandjssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.5 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ocean Inn and Suites
Ocean Inn and Suites
#9 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#3 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge

Property: Ocean Lodge
Address: 935 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-5014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is nestled in the Golden Isles of Georgia, just steps from the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. Stunning architecture ignites your passion for Old World beauty and continues to unveil itself with impeccable detail throughout your stay. Ideally located a mere whisper from the heart of quaint St. Simons Island, this unique boutique hotel awaits your arrival! Whether delighting the luxury-seeking vacationer, providing a refreshing change for corporate retreats, or dazzling wedding guests with spectacular rooftop receptions, this special place will be uniquely yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing