We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lodge for a Fabulous Honeymoon”
Review of Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 7, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for three nights for our honeymoon. We had never been to St. Simon's Island before and were quite excited by the photos of the Ocean Lodge web site. We were happy to find that the place is as beautiful if not more. Knowing it was our honeymoon, the staff moved us to the fourth floor corner suite without us even needing to request it. The room was super large (larger than our own apartment!) and very clean. The view from our large balcony was gorgeous. We loved how quiet and cozy the lodge was during our stay. We also enjoyed the delicious breakfast, which was included in the room rate. This place is incredible and we would love to come back some day. I also want to mention that we were offered 30 percent off our room rate total when I called to make the reservations, which really helped us make our decision on where to stay. If you are looking for a quiet, clean, and beautiful place to stay on the island, this is the place!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheeler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

575 - 581 of 590 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2009

Very relaxed bed and breakfast. The rooms are very nice and well maintained. The breakfast every morning was great. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The location is pretty good. The hotel is not actually beach front, it's one row back. The beach across the street is small, and only accessible when the tide is out; however, the hotel is very close to other public beaches which offer 24x7 access regardless of the tide. The hotel is also very close to 'downtown' which is nice. The hotel also offer a patio on the roof with great views. One knock would be the small workout room and limited exercise equipment (I like to workout at the beach).

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dixie_Traveler_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

We can not say enough about how much we love everything at the Ocean Lodge. The staff goes out of their way to make every detail of your stay just right. From the time we first met them in July 08 to every minute of this stay, they treat you like family if not better! We stayed on the 4th floor of this fabulous property and had a huge balcony. The view is amazing and we enjoyed a first night's dinner on our private balcony with views of the ocean and a beautiful starry night. The suites are breathtaking as well. The suites feature luxurious furnishings, every amenity including aromatherapy soaps, plush robes, candles, snacks, drinks, even turn down service with slippers and chocolates! Breakfast was amazing with lots of choices beginning with fresh fruit and coffee. The views from the rooftop lounge are amazing as well and the workout room enjoys a nice breeze. We have lots of opportunities to visit St. Simons and we will always stay at the Ocean Lodge. In fact of all the places we have ever stayed (we travel a good bit), this is now our absolute favorite.

Stayed: January 2009
1  Thank Thomas_Lakeland_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2008

Our son’s wedding weekend at the Ocean Lodge was an experience we will not soon forget. It could not have gone better (perhaps a tiny bit warmer). St Simons probably set a record low for the weather on November 21st and 22nd, 2008 - the wind was 20 mph!

The hotel event staff was amazing. They made changes in the setup for the rehearsal dinner at the last minute to shield the guests from the wind. It was beautifully arranged, The chef did a great job with the food, and the serving staff was so friendly and accommodating.

The wedding was on the lawn the next day. Thankfully the wind subsided a little - but it was still very cold. Again, for the reception, the staff made changes at the last minute to shield the tables & guests from the cold and wind. The camaraderie and the food were great; the setting -- breathtaking.

It was wonderful for both the bride's and the groom’s families and friends to all stay together at the Ocean Lodge, share the breakfast hour each morning, and get to know one another over the weekend. The food was delicious and the staff gracious and friendly.

We had such a great time and made memories that we will cherish forever.
Thank you Ocean Lodge for those memories.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank emsGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2008

My sister got married at the Ocean Lodge in November and I can honestly say that it was truly fabulous! The hotel is just beautiful with so many extras. It was very romantic. The food there was top notch. Breakfast every morning started off with a fruit plate with granola and yogurt and great coffee (available all day). The made to order breakfasts were all delicious. My sister had her rehearsal dinner (a BBQ -- awesome), her wedding ceremony, and her reception there at the Ocean Lodge. Our family just couldn't have been more pleased with the location, the amenities and the highly attentive and professional staff. I highly recommend the Ocean Lodge.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MTKTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2008

Our family had the pleasure of having our daughter's wedding at the Ocean Lodge in November 2008. The staff was very professional, friendly, and extremely competent in handling all of the planning and details of the entire event....from the rehearsal dinner through to the beautiful reception on the rooftop terrace. They definitely know how to execute a very classy affair. The atmosphere at the Ocean Lodge is first class, its decor that of an Italian Villa. Many of the guests stayed at the Lodge and the accommodations were superb. Each suite had plenty of room and all of the amenities. No detail was left undone. Each morning we could order a delicious breakfast which was served in the lovely parlor area.
As a guest at the Lodge, I will definitely return and I wholeheartly recommend the Ocean Lodge as a wonderful venue for any special occasion.....especially weddings.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geminiFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

Overall fantastic stay at the Ocean Lodge. Pros: The staff went out of their way to make sure everything was top notch. You will find attention to detail throughout your stay. Breakfast was better than any Ritz or Four Seasons, sheets 100% cotton, plenty of complimentary snacks, waters, and soft drinks in the room. Huge suite and huge balcony with ocean views. Cons: I did not like the decor & the light switches were hard to find in some spots (I can live with both). This lodge is a great value for this island. I will stay here again because of the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cng08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
5.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,225 reviews
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
622 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
6.4 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge

Address: 935 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-5014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: $355 - $725 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is nestled in the Golden Isles of Georgia, just steps from the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. Stunning architecture ignites your passion for Old World beauty and continues to unveil itself with impeccable detail throughout your stay. Ideally located a mere whisper from the heart of quaint St. Simons Island, this unique boutique hotel awaits your arrival! Whether delighting the luxury-seeking vacationer, providing a refreshing change for corporate retreats, or dazzling wedding guests with spectacular rooftop receptions, this special place will be uniquely yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing