We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have been to St. Simon's Island many times and have always stayed at The King and Prince. We've always enjoyed our stay there, but decided to stay at the Ocean Lodge this visit. What a great decision ! From the moment we checked in with William, the mini tour by Joe, dinner service with Jenny and Mack, to the outstanding made to order breakfast served by Gloria . . . We were treated like royalty! Not to mention, the accommodations were over the top!! Thanks to ya'll for making our stay so special!! We will highly recommend your beautiful Lodge to our friends and look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 597 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had the pleasure to stay at this luxurious and exquisitely appointed hotel for our 17th anniversary. Our suite was exceptionally well appointed and lasciviously decorated with every comfort and amenity that you need to feel like royalty. It was difficult to leave because it was so comfortable and relaxing. Guest services staff were outstanding in providing sincere and genuine hospitality every day of our visit. All of our requests and needs were addressed graciously and immediately with sincere pleasure to help our stay be memorable. This will be a memory that my wife and I will be able to cherish for a lifetime. Thank-you Ocean Lodge!

Room Tip: Fourth Floor offers best views of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

The staff really goes out of their way to make you feel special. Service on par with Four Seasons or Mandarin. The rooms are every bit as nice as The Cloister.

The complimentary breakfast is made to order and is delicious. Fresh juice, eggs Benny, scones, fresh fruit, excellent coffee and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigDDD1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Ocean Lodge is a wonderful and special. The suite is well appointed and very very clean. Our suite had two full bathrooms, kitchen area, sitting area, large bedroom, and best of all a large covered balcony. The staff is professional, exceeding helpful and provide a Northern some of that Low Country Charm. The beach is a short walk across the street. The beaches at St. Simone are public and clean. And breakfast is included and should not be missed. The breakfast menu is filled is yummy dishes; fresh OJ; mellow coffee and make sure you try the pancakes! We highly recommend Ocean Lodge.

Room Tip: Would recommend rooms on the 3rd or 4th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PLSC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on a weekend getaway to St Simons Island. My husband booked a 4th floor room so we could have beach views. Needless to say the hotel isn't right on the beach and there are buildings in front of it partially obstructing the limited beach view. We stayed in room 402, the room itself seemed pretty nice however it was a little over the top on the furniture and decorations. Very heavy feeling. We had a one bedroom two bathroom suite it also had a kitchen area and a balcony. The balcony wall in this room is solid concrete and was about 4 feet high there are no railings so if you sit down in one of the chairs you can't see anything but wall nor does it let in much of the ocean breeze. Very disappointing.

The master bath is one of those bath/tub combos with a half pane of glass to prevent water from getting everywhere. You have to step in the tub to turn on the shower. The guest bathroom on the other hand is much larger with a walk in shower with two shower heads. We actually preferred showering in this one. There are only small wall mirrors above the sinks in this suite so if you are staying here you may want to try your outfits on before leaving your house as there are no full length mirrors here. The bed was pretty large, I think it was a king, but it definitely needed some updating. The mattress itself seemed plush at first until you laid on it and it immediately sunk down in the middle. Laying there it seemed as if your head was slightly elevated. They had this huge heavy comforter on the bed that must have weighed about 10 pounds. We had to get rid of that thing and just sleep with the sheets. However the sheets were very scratchy and seemed like they were starched. Our first night there I had some type of allergic reaction to something in the bed or bedroom because I couldn't stop sneezing, my eyes and skin were itchy. Allergies are not the norm for me and this was a first. Needless to say this was a very sleepless night for me.

This hotel has very limited parking only a small area under the hotel and about six spots in a courtyard. Which would be fine since the hotel only has about 37 rooms. However the hotel has a restaurant and patrons of the restaurant park under the hotel which makes finding a parking spot for guests difficult. During the day no issues but if you leave and go to dinner elsewhere you will have issues finding a parking spot when you return. This happened to us both nights. One afternoon we had to park on the road in front of the hotel since there was some type of wedding party and the guests attending the wedding down the beach were parking there. Management needs to develop a better system to reserve parking spots for hotel guests. Maybe some type of cone that is put in the spot or a better count of how many guests are actually staying here so you know how many spots to save.

The bedroom had a small wall mounted A/C unit which was a little noisy to me and when we came back on the second day from our afternoon activities we found a huge puddle in the bedroom from the A/C that had dripped all over the hotel provided robes and floor. Lastly I know it's hard to keep floors clean but if the housekeeping is doing their job your feet shouldn't be black after walking on the floor. Maybe that's why they provide slippers.

I normally don't write such bad reviews but for a hotel that is charging so much to stay there this one was a big disappointment. I would not stay here again and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone else until some things are fixed.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mick32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

An amazing experience in every way. We had a small glitch when we arrived, a leak of no one’s fault. But the staff never stopped trying to enhance our stay after that! We were waited on and catered to so beautifully. If you like lots of attention and friendliness, this is the place for you. The entire staff is like a large family, and they treat you as honored guests in their home. Breakfast is a superb treat; the location is perfect for beaching, biking or exploring the town (we did all); and the rooftop restaurant was so enchanting, we ate there two of our three nights. We loved the large, luxurious suite and his-and-her baths. Wish we could have stayed longer - I never wanted to leave. It is evident that customer experience is paramount among each member of Joe's staff. Take time to have him tell you his story - it's wonderful!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view, but lower floors are a bit quieter and still offer all the same l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We have now stayed several times a the Ocean Lodge. The rooms are large, very nice, with a great balcony. The beach is immediately across the street. Breakfast is the best surprise of the visit. Don't miss it.

The restaurant upstairs has some of the best food in town. Go there first, before waiting long times locally.

But the best thing about staying here is the staff. Their hospitality is second to now. Don't miss staying at the Ocean Lodge!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
5.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
517 reviews
1.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
768 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
644 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Inn and Suites
Ocean Inn and Suites
#9 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge

Address: 935 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-5014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: $345 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is nestled in the Golden Isles of Georgia, just steps from the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. Stunning architecture ignites your passion for Old World beauty and continues to unveil itself with impeccable detail throughout your stay. Ideally located a mere whisper from the heart of quaint St. Simons Island, this unique boutique hotel awaits your arrival! Whether delighting the luxury-seeking vacationer, providing a refreshing change for corporate retreats, or dazzling wedding guests with spectacular rooftop receptions, this special place will be uniquely yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing