We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at Beautiful Ocean Lodge”
Review of Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful lodge in St. Simons Island a few weeks ago. Not only were the suites incredible, but the service we received there was unbelievable. Any question you had was greeted with attention and service. The suites are beautiful and I don’t think you could select a room that you didn’t enjoy. The location and views of the ocean were beautiful. Breakfast is made to order and the coffee (which I’m particular about) was great. They had a wonderful, talented singer at dinner during our stay. I would highly recommend. It was top notch.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 590 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

Due to unanticipated circumstances, we found ourselves at the front reservation desk checking into this wonderful "lodge" at 11:00 p.m. The overnight team member got us into a room for a restful night's sleep. When we woke up we found the sunrise coming into our room and then relaxed on our private patio drinking our morning coffee and orange juice. This was followed by a wonderful made to order breakfast and led to a splendid dinner with jazz and dancing to end the night. This is a great place to rest, relax and refresh if you need a break from it all. All of the team members from the owner all the way to the underground garage attendant work together as a team to make sure you have everything you need to have an enjoyable stay. We will be back to this little secret in coastal Georgia all the way from upstate NY and will be bringing as many friends and family as possible. Thanks again to all... .mm Rochester, NY

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Tybee" suite which was wonderful. The other couple traveling with us st...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Essentially it is a very tiny hotel with a European feel. Rooms are big and clean. Unless you are staying on the top floor, you will not see the ocean. Service was terrible! Staff in at the rooftop lounge were rude. If you need help and call the hotel numbers listed, they will never pick up the phone! Not accommodating with requests. For the $$$ I would stay somewhere else. I asked if there was a nice breakfast area in town, I was told the huddle house by staff. They obviously do not understand their clientele. After further research myself, there are several cute breakfast cafés in town.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
5  Thank PJliketotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We booked a two night stay at the Ocean Lodge with great expectations. The staff was very friendly and courteous. However we found the hotel to be terribly overpriced and not of the appropriate value. We found the common areas including the restaurant to not be clean. The rooms appeared to be poorly constructed and maintained. It was surprising to see a hotel at this price in this condition. One of the exit stairways was even unusable, packed with chairs and other stuff (not exactly fire code). We actually left early and went to the Beach Club on Jekyll, which at a substantially less price provided us with a much more enjoyable experience.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank mpollatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Hotel was a perfect retreat for a few days of rest and relaxation. The staff was attentive and friendly. The room was a suite consisting of a bedroom area, two bathrooms and a living area that includes a kitchen. Very comfortable for either an elongated stay or a stop over. The roof top restaurant/bar was very convenient with good service and food. The price did include a full menu breakfast that included some great wait staff. I would go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babybuzz_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

ALL THE POSITIVE REVIEWS ARE 100% CORRECT. It is truly" a home away from home". The staff is just remarkable. They make the entire trip so very worthwhile. --Jackie, Michelle, Anne, William are stars--- and they report to a hands- on dynamite manager- Mac. You can see the beauty and care of the hotel itself. Mr. McDonough, the owner, rightfully has pride and he looks to every detail. It has been 2 weeks but the spirit and interaction is still with us.
You will be amazed by the rooftop dining-& Brandon is the man. Just fabulous food, sea views and 2 fireplaces and a balcony- this beats any of the other restaurants. Do not miss this!!!
Move quickly to be part of their family....Michelle knows all- and that breakfast- whoa. It is included with your room...have a fabulous stay !
ME Fuller/P. Ridgeway

Mary Ellen Fuller/ P. Ridgeway

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank premierblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My wife and I just returned from short stay at the Ocean Lodge . This is a one of a kind location that lives up to its reputation in every way. The rooms/suites are beautiful , the second bathroom is a nice touch, the outside deck is large and a great place to have a glass of wine and look at the ocean. Don't miss the sunrises.

The staff is truly interested in trying make your stay perfect. Jackie and Will when you check in and Gloria set a standard that other 5 star locations could learn from. No doubt they are following the leadership of Joe the owner who has created a gem and is obviously involved in keeping it polished.

Also don't leave without enjoying the restaurant / lounge on the roof. Just a great romantic , first class getaway location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
5.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,225 reviews
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
622 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
6.4 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge

Address: 935 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-5014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: $354 - $725 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is nestled in the Golden Isles of Georgia, just steps from the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. Stunning architecture ignites your passion for Old World beauty and continues to unveil itself with impeccable detail throughout your stay. Ideally located a mere whisper from the heart of quaint St. Simons Island, this unique boutique hotel awaits your arrival! Whether delighting the luxury-seeking vacationer, providing a refreshing change for corporate retreats, or dazzling wedding guests with spectacular rooftop receptions, this special place will be uniquely yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing