We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lucretia J. Awesome Rooftop View and Dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Frankfort, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lucretia J. Awesome Rooftop View and Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Thirty business associates/friends met on the Rooftop Lounge and restaurant at the Ocean Lodge for dinner. The view was awesome on the Rooftop and even though it was early November, we were kept warm by the fire pits and heaters. Although the inside of the restaurant was small, they accomodated all of us with excellent service and delicious food. We were all very satisfied with our experience and would recommend it for a romantic rooftop dinner and/or business meeting/dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucretia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    56
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
42
408
10
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
416 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Drawn by positive reviews, I booked a weekend stay at the Ocean Lodge. The first impression is "it's not directly on the water" but that was quickly put to rest by the friendly a warm welcome by the staff. I had booked a 3rd floor suite to be "above the trees" and was show to an end unit with views of the ocean across the street but visible between the buildings in front and a wide view off the side of the balcony.

The suite has every convince imagined, complete with spa bath products, robes, slippers and a full kitchen. There are also two bathrooms to uncomplicated the his/hers situation.

We chose to dine at the Roof Top and again the service by the staff was over the top. The owner, Joe D, was mingling with the guests and the live music was an added treat. Dinner was excellent, prepared well and served at a nice pace. The Wine selections were very nice and reasonable.

Breakfast is included each morning and again the staff was upbeat and positive and breakfast was an unexpected treat … hot made to order and not hotel food. Joe D was also around during breakfast and it's clear to see that the staff is a reflection of his upbeat and pleasant personality.

On our second night we were able to sit out on the covered balcony watching the night stars and the ocean and hearing the waves hitting the shore across the street.

It is well worth the trip to stay here.

Room Tip: Choose 3rd or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DocHarrisHHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed three (3) nights in a luxury suite at the Ocean Lodge October 15, 2013; the experience was romantic and relaxing. We met several friendly Ocean Lodge staff including Jackie and Michelle. We even got a chance to meet the owner, Captain Joe who was celebrating a birthday during our stay.

All the staff we met were extremely friendly and met our every need. I would highly recommend this hotel to friends, family and any guest looking for a beautiful relaxing vacation. In fact, we hope to make a return trip in December.

We loved our stay so much that we are actually looking into moving to St. Simons Island, Georgia. The breakfast each morning was provided in an intimate setting with indoor or outdoor service. Book the 4th floor suite with the ocean views from your balcony; you won't regret the experience.

Room Tip: Book the luxury suite on the 4th level; the views are fantastic!
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel was very clean; we notice the hotel's energy-saving efforts, towel reuse efforts and the garden area. The landscaping was very nice.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aboyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at the Ocean Lodge for 9 nights and really loved the place. The suite was wonderful and it was great to have 2 bathrooms! The staff couldn't have been more friendly. We had such a great time with Jackie, Michelle and Gloria - they were such fun and we had a real laugh together. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they are happy to help in any way they can. They even went out and bought English Breakfast Tea especially for us! Fantastic place, would definitely go back there again. The personal, individual attention is something you just don't get in other hotels. We would happily recommend the Ocean Lodge to anyone. Will have to go back as we have promised to do the re-enactment of the Battle of Bloody Marsh with Gloria as she is Spanish and we are Scottish!

Room Tip: All the rooms are suites so I would presume are all great. We had a room on the front so had great v...
See more room tips
Green Features: Notices in the rooms ask ypu to consider the environment and towels are replaced if you want them to be. There is no smoking in the rooms which is great.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stopped at the Ocean lodge on our USA holiday from Sheffield, England on route to visiting our daughter in Charleston on October 13th 2013. The hotel is just beautiful and the attention to detail is exquisite.
The staff there were outstanding - extremely friendly and so helpful with absolutely everything.
We would definitely revisit this place and if you are looking for that something extra special then I can highly recommend stopping here.
We absolutely loved it.

Ruth and David from England.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheffield_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was our second trip to Ocean Lodge in 2 months. We LOVE the staff....Michelle and Jackie are our favorites (we miss you guys!). They both went above & beyond during our 3 day stay....one of the reasons we returned a second time!

Favorite part - Dinner on the roof was very romantic and private.

Can't wait to come back in the Spring....!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have big sturdy beds and private balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NandS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcy, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Joe McDonough and his family of staff has once again provided a wonderful, relaxing, getaway experience for my wife and I, bringing their own special brand of southern hospitality into the blend. From the welcoming smile and charm of Miss Jackie at check-in, to the constant attention of our breakfast servers Leigh and Michelle (we love ya), to the professional and friendly dinner staff of Mindy,Jason and Mack, the Ocean lodge offers travelers to Saint Simons Island something you just don't get at other hotels, a feeling of being part of the family. This was our second stay at the Lodge and this time we were able to enjoy the luxurious accommodations for a full 5 days and nights. The suites are the best you'll ever stay in, with an attention to detail second to none. Your every need has been anticipated and provided for, and should you require anything additional it is there before you finish asking. We ate dinner at The Rooftop at the Lodge each evening and found the food to be expertly prepared with great choices throughout the menu, which changes by the seasons. On our last night there, the restaurant was closed for a private party so the staff made accommodations for us to have our dinner on the veranda of our suite. There is nothing that the family at the Lodge won't do to make your stay the best it can be. When my wife was under the weather one of the days, Miss Jackie had Mack go to the store and get what was needed to get her well. There is no better feeling when your away from home then feeling your right at home, and that's the difference that makes the Ocean Lodge the #1 place to stay among The Golden Isles of Georgia!

Thanks again to all our family!
Paul & Dee

Room Tip: Every room is wonderfully appointed. The higher the floor, the better the views get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpyderP45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.5 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Inn and Suites
Ocean Inn and Suites
#9 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#2 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
0.4 mi away
The King and Prince Beach and Golf Resort
The King and Prince Beach and Go...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge

Property: Ocean Lodge
Address: 935 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-5014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is nestled in the Golden Isles of Georgia, just steps from the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. Stunning architecture ignites your passion for Old World beauty and continues to unveil itself with impeccable detail throughout your stay. Ideally located a mere whisper from the heart of quaint St. Simons Island, this unique boutique hotel awaits your arrival! Whether delighting the luxury-seeking vacationer, providing a refreshing change for corporate retreats, or dazzling wedding guests with spectacular rooftop receptions, this special place will be uniquely yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing