We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding In Every Respect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding In Every Respect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent 5 days here and had a glorious time. Excellent example of generous accommodations with a unique character, as opposed to the assembly-line feel of the pre-cast, pre-furnished concrete high rise units offered by most chains. Huge bedroom, 2-baths, full kitchen and living room and furnished balcony with a bit of an ocean view (3rd floor). BEST OF ALL though, was the entire staff: warm, friendly, helpful and willing to go "the extra mile" (especially Michelle, as others have mentioned) at every turn. And, the included full breakfast was a nice bonus as well. Not inexpensive, but worth every penny. We look forward to showing up on their doorstep again.

Room Tip: As mentioned by others, the higher the floor, the better the view. But, there is a hefty premium inv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    56
    20
    10
    9
See reviews for
42
410
10
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Time on the beach, wonderful dinner with a great view on the rooftop restaurant and very comfortable room to get away from the kids for one night. The breakfast in the morning is an amazing touch! It was a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The rooms were spacious and thoroughly decorated.
The food, especially the Key Lime pie and the Eggs Benedict were great.
We really enjoyed the complementary breakfasts in the cozy windowed nook just off the office.
At breakfast Gloria and Michelle made us feel very welcome and nicely boosted our "feel-good" sentiment of our stay at the Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Ocean Lodge, great location, views and service. Room was beautifully appointed. The Lodge offers a great breakfast and has a rooftop restuarant which is very convenient and great views. Many amenities such as bikes to use and chairs and umbrellas for the beach

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KonaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had a delifghtful stay at the Ocean Lodge in early June. The Lodge offers more of a B&B experience, offering a well decorated large suite with great views along with a delightful breakfast, an outdoor rooftop restaurant and bar for an early evening cocktail and an extraordinarily pleasant and attentive staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrschulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I wanted to spend a few days away from the routine. St. Simon Island (5 hours away) seemed like a good option enhanced by what we read about Ocean Lodge. We experienced a wonderful time in a well appointed room(s) with a view of the Atlantic. The staff was exceptional and addressed all our needs. Very friendly and welcoming. Little things, like access to bikes whenever we wanted, made this a comfortable stay. While pricey, the conveniences were exceptional; two bathrooms, full kitchen, lovely living room/sitting area, and lanai with ocean views. Our room(303) was not the best in the lodge but very acceptable. If interested check out Sniqueaway for value "deals".

Room Tip: Room 305, on the lower cost floor, appears to be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
454 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Difficult to write a review on this place. The staff was so incredibly wonderful and helpful in all ways, I hate to send negative feelings about this place. However, my feelings were all of the facility rather than the staff. I have been a custom home builder for 30 years and I can tell in an instant this place has over the top materials in it. Everything used to build it was "top shelf" and spells quality. However, the overall impression of the finish is one of dark, Spanish or Moorish taste, much as in a monk's monastery. The rooms are very dark with dark walls, dark furniture, dark finishes and heavy, overwhelming wall art, etc. People can spend their money the way they wish, but this place is just too somber looking for us. It had generous spaces, plenty of amenities and a nice balcony but the overall mode was just too dark and depressing for us.

Room Tip: The fourth floor has the best views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onceinawhile31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.5 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ocean Inn and Suites
Ocean Inn and Suites
#9 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#3 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge

Property: Ocean Lodge
Address: 935 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-5014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is nestled in the Golden Isles of Georgia, just steps from the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. Stunning architecture ignites your passion for Old World beauty and continues to unveil itself with impeccable detail throughout your stay. Ideally located a mere whisper from the heart of quaint St. Simons Island, this unique boutique hotel awaits your arrival! Whether delighting the luxury-seeking vacationer, providing a refreshing change for corporate retreats, or dazzling wedding guests with spectacular rooftop receptions, this special place will be uniquely yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing