We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”
Review of Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just stayed here the past weekend and I cried when we had to leave. I miss it still. This place was amazing. It has the WOW factor. I don't know where to begin. William was great with checking us in. Breakfast was great. Bed was extremely comfortable. A added value was the husband bathroom. I never even had to go in the master bathroom. TV was great. surround sound for movies. I simply don't understand how anyone can down this place. I'll be back soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vcclakebutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 590 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

The ocean lodge is an amazing place to stay. The people are so generous and kind. Mrs. Jackie and Mrs. Michelle oh what can I say ...you will just fall in love with there warm greetings and great hospitality. Thank yall for this amazing vacation definitely a home away from home


Love,
The Summers!!!

P.s please try the GIRTS

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heathersumner1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Ocean Lodge does everything right and only needs some minor corrections. We arrived early on Friday afternoon and rather than have us wait for our room, we were upgraded to a forth floor suite. The rooms were spacious and the kitchen five star. My wife loved the king size pillow top bed and million dollar bedding. The breakfast the next two mornings was world class and i am sorry I didn't bring my bathing suit to use their heated 4th floor hot tub and work out room.
The room could have better lighting to read by and the sound proofing needed some improvemnt.
I want to go again in September and have dinner in the restaurant and relax in their 2nd floor living room. RPH

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms have a great view of the ocean
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricknha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stumbled upon this place looking for somewhere amazing for a weekend to propose to my wonderful girlfriend and now Fiance. This place was magnificent and even exceeded all of the amazing reviews. William, Jackie, Tina, and others were so helpful in planning our amazing night. The dinner was a complete success and the food was delicious. After dinner the Lodge offered a rose pedal turn down, champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to celebrate our engagement. The next morning we went down for the complementary breakfast and everyone congratulated us on our engagement. The entire staff was amazing. They aimed to please and never fell short of doing so. We intend to make this a special place that we will come back and visit to celebrate the many special occasions to come.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Ocean Lodge for two nights and were very impressed with the attitude of the staff and spacious suite. The cooked-to-order breakfasts were excellent and served in a quiet setting.The ornate furnishings and architectural details provide pleasant surprises throughout the property. We opted for the corner suite (401) and thoroughly enjoyed the view of the ocean and relaxing setting. In fact, we both remarked that the lodge seems to have quite a bit of outdoor space for comfortable conversations.
All of the staff were friendly and attentive. We even took the courtesy bikes for a spin and explored some of the St. Simons' sights that Jackie had suggested.
The Ocean Lodge is probably a five star property for St. Simons Island, but did not measure up to other 5 star experiences we have enjoyed in other parts of the world. Here are the shortfalls which are clearly minor, but in our opinion should not happen in a 5 star environment:
*the TV in the bedroom area did not work
*the K-cup coffee supplied were both stale (and not replenished on the second day)
*the king-sized bed was pretty soft and the sheets had a stain (like a shoe print?). This was corrected without our mentioning it so no issue on our second night, but could have been caught previously(?)
*the shower in the second bathroom was too small to have both of the shower heads (the one flexible type would have been just fine).
*the computer system was down on the morning we departed so we could not get a final accounting confirmation (no additional charges, but I like to have the final bill).
All in all, we would recommend this property for a quiet, couple's getaway where the attentive staff will cater to you and the other guests will respect your privacy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ncgrampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Having a great experience at this Lodge on our first stay, we decided to return again for a two day stay. We were given a less desirable room and could not switch. We encountered several problems: (1) the televisions (Comcast) did not work both evenings, (2) the safe would not lock, (3) the lighting in the living room was limited to a single dim table lamp, and (4) the previous stay was less expensive and virually the same time of the year.

For lodging at these prices, we would not have expected to have such problems. On the positive side the full breakfasts were quite good. The best rooms are the odd numbered ones, especially those ending on 01.

We will think about staaying eleswhere on the next visit.

Room Tip: Choose those with an odd number, especially those ending in 01.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank endjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a wonderful property. The staff are so welcoming, Mr. Joe, the owner is so helpful. Everyone makes you feel so welcomed. We have been there before and vowed to return. It was worth it.
The only negative was the restaurant at night. Major disconnect somewhere there.. But, for breakfast, it can't be beat.

Room Tip: We got an end room...more light! But, there aren't that many of them...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
5.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,225 reviews
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
622 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
6.4 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge

Address: 935 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-5014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range: $355 - $725 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is nestled in the Golden Isles of Georgia, just steps from the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. Stunning architecture ignites your passion for Old World beauty and continues to unveil itself with impeccable detail throughout your stay. Ideally located a mere whisper from the heart of quaint St. Simons Island, this unique boutique hotel awaits your arrival! Whether delighting the luxury-seeking vacationer, providing a refreshing change for corporate retreats, or dazzling wedding guests with spectacular rooftop receptions, this special place will be uniquely yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing