We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite and Down-to-Earth”
Review of Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exquisite and Down-to-Earth”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We experienced excellent service from the moment my husband called Ocean Lodge to book our honeymoon until we checked out. Jackie who made our reservations is such a darling. When she discovered that we were going to be on our honeymoon she had a special surprise for us. The entire staff was attentive, accommodating and extremely helpful. The decor of the lodge is exquisite and really makes you feel as if you are a world away, but at the same time the owner and all the staff are so down-to-earth that you feel at home. If you are looking for a romantic, first-class boutique hotel, home away from home where you can experience just the right amount luxury without the stuffiness-Ocean Lodge is the place for you. Good to know - 1) A delicious hot breakfast is served daily. Be sure to try the blueberry pancakes--soo good! 2) There is no official "room service" menu but you can order food from the Roof Top restaurant and they will bring it to your room no problem. The pool is tiny (if you are a pool person you will be disappointed), 3) free bicycles are available for guests, be sure to take a ride around the town. All in all we had a fantastic time, highly recommend it and plan to return to celebrate our anniversary.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, if you can afford to splurge go for the penthouse, the view is wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamaicanbrownin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ocean Lodge. We are delighted that you enjoyed the atmosphere and service. We will definitely pass this wonderful review to our staff, it will make their day! We look forward to your return to Ocean Lodge in the future.

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    58
    21
    10
    9
See reviews for
44
419
10
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, GA
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

From check-in to breakfast, to the outdoor dinner and menu, this Lodge is like taking a vacation in Europe. Each suite is impeccably decorated. A balcony to sit and have a drink, and listen (and see) the ocean. Fire pit and patio heaters made eating outside in the cooler weather very tolerable. We actually decided to stay an extra night because we liked it so much.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, so there isn't a bad one. We stayed in 301 which was a corner room so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent visit to Ocean Lodge. It is so rewarding to hear feedback such as yours. We are very proud of our staff and will share your review with them, it will make them very happy I'm sure. We are so glad that you decided to stay an extra night! Please visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I figured with all the hype that this place has gotten (e.g., voted one of the most romantic places to stay) that it wouldn't quite live up to its reputation--which for us it didn't. However, it is still a very nice place to stay and I have no regrets having booked our three nights there. As many others have said, it is really more like an apartment--very spacious--and quite comfortable. I have to say that the decor was a bit heavy-handed for my tastes (large brocades, heavy curtains, furniture and paintings that are supposed to make you feel like you are in a Roman villa). However, I'm sure this would have appeal to some and it was not objectionable. I loved that my husband had his own bathroom and the two flat screen tvs came in handy when we wanted some time apart. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, bedding and towels were high end, and the robes were great. The staff all seemed very anxious to please.

Now to the few things that make me not inclined to give it 5 stars:
- When I made the original booking I tried to get a corner room for the best view, but was told these were all occupied. I was told that all rooms have an ocean view. This is true, but the room we had (in the middle of the lodge) looked out on other houses and you only had a sliver of a view of the ocean unless you went out on the balcony and looked to the far right.
- Like a prevous reviewer, I do have to say that housekeeping could be improved. We had 3 burned out bulbs in the room. I left the one by the bed on the bedside table. It was taken away, but a new bulb was not put in its place, thereby making reading in bed quite difficult. The faucets on our jet tub also did not work properly and it was not possible to control the temperature, so I gave up on the idea of trying to take a jacuzzi. Housekeeping also could have been a little less stingy with the toiletries, as ones I used were not replaced and we were only given one bar of soap in the bathroom, requiring that this be shared between the shower and the wash basin.
- Yes, there was a Keurig coffee maker, but no supplies for tea.
- Although we did not try to cook in the kitchen, it would have been hard to do so if we had wanted to as there was only one skillet and a platic spatula. Also, there was not a complete set of dishes--presumably some had been broken, but not replaced.
- Breakfast was quite plentiful, but there were some sorry aspects to it. Bowl of fruit I got on the first day looked several days old and the hash browns were old tasting and had clearly been microwaved. The ones served on the second day were better but still not freshly prepared.

O.k., now I know I'm sounding pretty petty, but this places bills itself as a high-end place (complete with butler services--somehow we never ran into him) and tries to get you to pay close to $400/room. Fortunately, we were able to get a good rate ($189/night) by searching for a promo code, and I think this is a reasonable rate to pay, especially given that breakfast is included. I did like the place, but still not quite certain about the tremendous hype it has gotten. A nice inn if you can get a decent rate, but I wouldn't go too far out of your way to stay there unless you can get the right price.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Fridaysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Ocean Lodge. I was pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay and loved reading all of the great comments. I was also glad that you were able to provide us with some needed feedback on how we could have made your stay more enjoyable. We are always striving to improve anything that we can do to make our guest's stay more enjoyable and it always helps to have valuable feedback such as yours. Thanks so much and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Ocean Lodge and The Rooftop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife and I chose this destination as the site for our wedding ceremony in November of 2012. We chose the Escape Package due to our desire for a small, yet intimate, ceremony. The hotel staff was excellent in providing us with everything that we wanted for our accommodations. Our wedding coordinator, Tina, was absolutely amazing. The 3-night stay at this location was beyond excellent. The 4-course dinner at their rooftop restaurant was top-quality with the freshest seafood in the area. Overall, our experience was a once-in-a-lifetime experience, and we will definitely be back for future visits. We also very impressed with the friendly staff, and how everyone was more than willing to help us to make planning our wedding as stress-free as possible. The courtyard provided the perfect backdrop for our wedding ceremony. Every vendor recommended by Tina was very professional and accommodating toward our vision and budget. Our wedding coordinators make sure that our day went perfectly well and ensured that our vision was more than we could have ever imagined. To top it off, the hotel staff made our 3-night stay as romantic and comfortable as possible. We would definitely love to return every year for our future anniversaries. If you are looking to have any unforgettable experience for your special wedding day, Ocean Lodge is the best of the Golden Isles!!!

Room Tip: The corner suites have the best balconies which in turn have the best ocean view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, Congrats on your new marriage. We are so thrilled that you chose Ocean Lodge as your venue for that special time. We are even more thrilled that we were able to help make your wedding as beautiful as it was. We can't wait to see you guys year after year for your anniversaries. Thanks so much for your kind words and we will see you soon.

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Ocean Lodge and The Rooftop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, USA
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

After finding a deal for such an excellent boutique hotel on SniqueAway.com, we decided to spring for it and plan our Thanksgiving week vacation, our "babymoon" as some call it (last trip before our first child is born), around this hotel. We stayed for 3 nights.

Pros:
- beautiful Italian styling of the whole hotel
- beautiful artwork in the rooms, commissioned for the hotel itself
- rooms (small condos really) are great in terms of amenities (kitchen, living area, 2 bathrooms, etc.). Almost everything has been thought of, including candles for the big bathtub, trash bags in the kitchen provided (not the case with normal condos), etc.
- BREAKFAST...amazing! Had great service too.
- great town to rest and relax...visit the beach, see a movie, eat good food, play disc golf or regular golf, visit Jekyll Island (20-30 minutes away)

Cons:
- not actually on the ocean, but across the street from it
- not alot to do if you are the "go go go" type
- while service staff was friendly, we had several issues in our room that we reported on our first morning there, and while we were told that maintenance was called, nothing was fixed in the 3 days we were there. This included our master bath toilet not being attached to the floor, a broken coffee table piece (not a main part), etc. None of these greatly affected our stay, but as world travelers, we expect a 5 star place to have a) noticed these things before we arrived, or b) to fix them immediately once we told them.

All in all, we'd certainly go back for R&R as no toilet is going to stop us from enjoying ourselves! But we'd give this place more like a 4.5 star rather than 5.

Room Tip: Higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lnze04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Ocean Lodge. We appreciate the wonderful comments that you left and certainly take pride in them. I would like to apologize for any issues that made your experience less than impeccable. Even though we are across the street from the beach, all of our suites have an ocean view and we try to make that clear in any of our descriptions of the property. I am also sorry that the maintenance issues that you noticed were not addressed before your arrival. We are now drastically increasing our suite inspection standards, so I insure you, this will not be an issue upon your return, which we are certainly awaiting. Thanks again, and we will see you soon.

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Sure, most vacations are about "getting away", but imagine for a second if you could bring the best parts of home along with your vacation... what would you come up with? More than likely the Ocean Lodge. Perfect location. Excellent amenities. The most friendly staff you'll probably encounter. Wonderful choice of walkable restaurants.

There.

What else do you need on vacation? Seriously. No stress, a very comfortable bed, and again, a smiling face that's ready to help whenever you need it.

The room was very well appointed, spacious, and not having to carry around a keycard for the room was a very nice touch. Breakfast in the morning was always fresh, piping hot, and quite possibly one of the best cup(s)s of coffee I've experienced in a while.

I would strongly encourage you to check this place out. For those in the GA, FL, SC area it's well worth the short couple hours drive from wherever you are for a slice of this paradise.

For everyone else... just find a way to make this a destination, it's well worth every penny.

Room Tip: Room 301. It's a beautiful corner room with an excellent sea view. You'll be glad you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMagic21824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Your description of our property describes exactly what we hope and strive to accomplish for every guest. Thanks again, and we can't wait for your return.

Sincerely,

Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Ocean Lodge and The Rooftop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aukegan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

From minute one to exit, we found this lodging and staff to be beyond our experienced expectations. We would definitely stay there again when we return to this historical island. Next time we would probably stay on the third floor instead of the extra expense of fourth floor lodgings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes B, Manager at Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you of reviewing your recent experience at Ocean Lodge. We could provide a great experience, and are proud of our staff for their southern hospitality. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope that you return to St. Simons and Ocean Lodge in the near future!

Sincerely,
Wes Burgner
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Simons Island
0.5 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#7 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
511 reviews
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
114 reviews
5.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
6.4 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#4 of 9 in Jekyll Island
720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Inn and Suites
Ocean Inn and Suites
#9 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge

Property: Ocean Lodge
Address: 935 Beachview Dr, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-5014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Saint Simons Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Saint Simons Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Lodge is nestled in the Golden Isles of Georgia, just steps from the shores of the Atlantic Ocean. Stunning architecture ignites your passion for Old World beauty and continues to unveil itself with impeccable detail throughout your stay. Ideally located a mere whisper from the heart of quaint St. Simons Island, this unique boutique hotel awaits your arrival! Whether delighting the luxury-seeking vacationer, providing a refreshing change for corporate retreats, or dazzling wedding guests with spectacular rooftop receptions, this special place will be uniquely yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Saint Simons Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing