We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small. busy, but worth any wait”

Palmer's Village Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Since 2010 our team has strived to serve the highest quality prepared food & provide great guest service.....we serve breakfast and lunch everyday. Did we mention you can get breakfast all day until 2PM? We now offer dinner Thursday - Saturday in which chef prepares weekly dinner specials that he and his crew develop based on the freshest ingredients and seasonal specials.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Small. busy, but worth any wait”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stopped here for lunch on a Thursday. We waited about 10 minutes for a table, but the manager was very polite and nice about it. This is not a very big cafe, and the menu is not large in terms of the number of choices. But no matter, if what we had is any sign, there is no need to expand the menu. I had the crab cake sandwich, and I thought the crab cake was much tastier than the more expensive version at Barbara Jean's, across the street. My wife had the BLT, which she loved. Service was friendly and very efficient.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rac-columbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    942
    196
    51
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sylva
2 reviews
“First Class”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My what an outstanding staff at Palmer's Village Cafe from the owner (Palmer) who takes a personal interest and interacts with every customer and with his staff. Palmer is truly a hands on Employeer who is not afraid to bus tables as well as serving his guest. The excellent meals prepared by an outstanding Chief. Every day the Chief prepares an outstanding special that includes quality seafood from the local area. My wife wanted to adopt the chief. The Waiters were on top of everything and interacted with each other too make sure every customers needs were met it did not matter if it was their table or not the customer was always first. I contend that the most important person in any restaurant is the dishwasher and what an outstanding job he did to keep the Chief supplied with fresh clean plates, cups and dining utensils were spotless a difficult task during extremely busy days. If you are visiting Sait Simons Island, Ga. breakfast and Lunch is the opportunity of a life time for an oustanding meal you must go to Palmer's Village Cafe. Thank you Palmer for making Vivian and my 44 wedding anniversary a success. Sincerely, Roy Estabrook

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breakfast and lunch with a smile!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We have been many many times! When we have guests in town, this is one of the first places we suggest they go! Never had a meal I did not like!! Very friendly and accommodating wait staff and owner!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Didn't Live Up to It's Billing”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We went to Palmer's on a Sunday because it was highly recommended. It was very busy and an obvious choice for locals. The special was less than special. The swordfish steak was extremely dry. The ham biscuit had the chewiest ham ever. The gravy biscuit was good; however there was no service recovery.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Thunder D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Southern with a twist”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Palmer's is the perfect spot for breakfast or lunch. Fun, eclectic dishes are always served up fresh and delicious. Locals and visitors alike love this quirky little spot in the village. Go casual and stroll down to the waterfront after a satisfying southern meal.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justpeachyingeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmer's Village Cafe also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Palmer's Village Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing