We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Little Sushi Place Around”

Tanaka Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #68 of 339 Restaurants in Roswell
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Roswell, Georgia
2 reviews
“Best Little Sushi Place Around”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Fabulous and fresh!! I have been going to Tanaka for many years and the quality of fresh food and good service has not changed!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lschmidt0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Suitcase
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Confirmatory endorsement”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Not going to go verbose here: Food - Excellent, Service - Excellent, clean and friendly.
Yes, yes, and yes.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JacobBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Clearly my goto sushi destination”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

It was a first date. But, I was actually more there for the food. Sorry Miss (name withheld). I will gladly drive from Woodstock, Ga to Roswell in a heartbeat to eat here. To me a Sushi place has to get the basics some may say is fresh fish. Fresh fish important eating Sashimi like I do most times. But really the basics for me is the rice. If the rice is not done well, then I usually don't return to the restaurant. Proper rice cooking and seasoning takes several years to learn for a reason. And, this chef is definitely on point. The rice here is outstanding. The fish quality also excellent. The location is an indistinct strip mall. If you blink you may drive right past it. It is not a large place either so it fills up quickly around dinner time. They have traditional cooked Japanese dishes that are also good. I have tried the pork cutlet, very tasty. But to me this is by far my favorite sushi restaurant in Atlanta.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmjstripthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Eaten here for over a decade!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Excellent quality and variety. To me and my husband, they singularly have the best miso soup and ginger salad dressing! Best california rolls too. Love the dipping sauce for the tempura. Quiet atmosphere...actually decent for a date. Good for families too. Two suggestions: 1) feel they should use normal sized wine glasses (I never order wine because the prices are not reflective of the small pour you are given) and 2) apparently they aren't serving chicken breast at dinner for the chicken teriyaki which we would prefer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank redatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Sushi, Great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I read a few of the reviews of the Sushi restaurants around the Alpharetta/Roswell area. This one looked like the best and it lived up to its rating.

My wife and I ordered a few different rolls and every one of them was phenomenal. The prices were reasonable as well. Service was great. I just cannot say enough good things about our experience. We have found our new favorite sushi restaurant.

Just because it is small and at the back of a retail strip, do not let the “hole in the wall” appearance fool you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RBR1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanaka Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tanaka Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing