We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Osteria Mattone

Osteria Mattone
Reserve with OpenTable
Osteria Mattone is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 333 Restaurants in Roswell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $45
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Osteria Mattone is a neighborhood restaurant serving regional Italian cuisine with a focus on Roman fare, combining the casual spirit of an osteria with the more formal dining of a trattoria. The restaurant's menu and dining rooms allow guests to choose how they'd like to dine: pizza and a Peroni in the Osteria or a three-course dinner in the trattoria.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

There is nothing worst than traveling more than a thousand miles, reach a destination tired, hungry and arriving late at a restaurant after the lunch service has finished. But we were lucky! One of the young owners heard our predicament and asked the chef and she was willing to appease our hunger even after lunch service had ended. We quickly ordered two glasses of wine, two appetizers and two lunch plates. Osteria Mattone, a nice Italian wine and food establishment located on Canton Street, has a lovely location, a newly refurbished local and has both indoor and outdoor seating. The lunch menu is simple as it should be, but it is not inexpensive. The menu has appetizers, salads, piadas, pizzas, pastas, The dinner menu has other more complicated offerings. The wine list is excellent and varied as to its selections. We started with a delightful fritto misto (with sweet fresh shrimp, bay scallops and squid covered with a light batter), Burrata salad and followed with agnolotti stuffed with ox meat, a superb dish and a grilled chicken wrap or piada. The portions were adequate, and the presentation was very enticing. We ended splitting a dessert of a salt caramel hazelnut chocolate tart, which was excellent. The lavazza espresso was, we'll as it should have. And the Chef came to our table to deliver the goods which in my book, deserves much praise.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank caribislandtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    49
    19
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Had a great steak; everone else in our party also liked what they ordeded. Good location and easy parking nearby. give it a try.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

A little bit away from the crowd in Roswell downtown, maybe not great for survival rate in this area . Great food and value . I will be back

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pablo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great patio - Italian food that wasn't intimidating”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Dined at this restaurant with a party of 4 in July. We had to sit inside because it was too hot, but the patio area is a really nice touch. The menu was familiar with only a couple of options that I had not seen before. Our service was attentive, and our server was knowledgeable. This is not a restaurant you should wear shorts to... even on a July in the South. It was a very pleasant evening all around!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ccrawf32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly attentive service”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is a nice option for Italian dining in Roswell. We four arrived a bit early for our reservation, yet received a friendly welcome, despite the fact the staff was preparing for a busy evening.

Osteria Mattone is set back from the main road, creating a nice space for outdoor dining when weather permits. We dined inside, where ambience is well above par- everything brand spanking- new, but never overtly sleek or sterile. These are really well designed dining rooms, with pale creamy walls and neutral window treatments at the many windows. We made our way to a really nice bar area for cocktails. The restrooms were spotless.

Our meal began with the Burrata Insalate, which would have been a complete win, but the yellow heirloom tomato was not ripened enough, and too firm. The house-made Burrata was very good though. Next, we shared excellent Frito Misto, nice and tender, and an order of Capesante with crispy artichoke and truffle brown butter. Also very good, but maybe a bit heavy on truffle for me.

We chose two orders of Tagliolini di Mare to split four ways- we all wanted to taste as many options as we could. Extra plates were provided immediately. Tarragon added an unexpected twist, and although a bit more seafood would have been lovely, this dish was very very good. Another pasta dish split between two of us was the Carbonara, which was surprisingly light. The entree we most enjoyed was Agnolotti di Oxo- high marks for this extra flavorful dish.

Dessert at Osteria Mattone is not to be missed! Every item sounded wonderful. Torta di Cioccolato alla Nocciola was very nice, but my favorite was the Budino Carmellato, a moist rich salted caramel bread pudding served with fior di latte gelato. We will try the fritelle di Limone e ricotta next time!

We enjoyed the selection of Italian wines, and look forward to our next visit!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MOGA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Mattone also viewed

 

Been to Osteria Mattone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing