We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Favorite Mexican Restaurant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Jinete Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Jinete Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #215 of 333 Restaurants in Roswell
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“My Favorite Mexican Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have become a fan of El Jinete over the past few years. No frills Mexican restaurant, but exactly what you want....good food, good prices, friendly staff (ask for Pablo), quick service, and good drinks....good value for the money. The Chorizo dip (cheese and Mexican sausage) is some of the best in Roswell/Alpharetta, their chunky guacamole is great, and fajita nachos are also a favorite. I have coined their margaritas "crack margarita" because they must put something in them they are so strong....they will knock you on your butt but in my opinion, that means less money out of my pocket as I am not a heavy drinker. They also have a projection screen for watching sports. Overall, just a great little restaurant with margaritas that will make you think you are in Mexico! Ask for Pablo and tell him Chris sent you!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank chrisa871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't waste your night.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a great Mexican restaurant DON'T COME HERE! My quesadillas were cold my taco salad wad small and bland-the atmosphere was dirty. There are kids everywhere-loud kids. The margaritas are watered down. Please don't waste your money. Oh and on top of it all my husband got food poisoning from the beef fajitas!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great service, excellent quality of food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

We're regulars at El Jinete and the family who runs the place knows us. They have adopted us like family and when we come we are always welcomed like long lost friends.

The owners/family will do everything they can to make your meal outstanding. Pablo has been kind enough to offer to make special items even if it's not on the menu. For a treat ask for the "Camarones El Jinete". It's not on the menu, but if you like shrimp you will love this dish. They also make a fantastic "Skinny Margarita" if you are in the mood for an adult beverage.

The main dining room can be a bit loud, especially during summer, but the bar is smoke free and is usually a bit more quiet.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crookedridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
142 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Fantastic Margarita - Very good traditional Mexican Dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Our server Pablo was fantastic. We requested a "naked" top shelf margarita and boy did they deliver. One of the best Margaritas we have had in a long time. You also get choices of top shelf tequila which is a bonus if you know your tequila.
We ordered Chili Colorado which was just spicy enough which is how the dish should be . The Tacos El Jinete (steak and chorizo) were very nice.
We enjoyed our food and again Pablo was a great server. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MKS0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Food! Great Prices!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

I visit El Jinete more that you could imagine. It has a very welcoming atmosphere, and its one of the best priced mexican resturants in the area. The cheese dip is huge and priced very well! The margaritas are delicious! The have wonderful combination platters, and the salsa is better than any place I have had it before. This mexican restaurant is wonderful!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank walkonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Jinete Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Jinete Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing