We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mile High Apple Pie!”
Review of The Pie Hole

The Pie Hole
Ranked #43 of 339 Restaurants in Roswell
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Mile High Apple Pie!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I think they put a case of apples in that pie- it was about a mile high and very tasty! The chocolate chess pie was delicious as well as the derby pie. Due to the holiday rush, they were running low on many of the pies, but we were fortunate enough to try 3 and they were all delicious, with very flaky crusts. It was worth the stop and at $3.50 a slice, well worth the price!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leigh E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    15
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
currituck NC
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Sadly I was not impressed”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

One would figure that a restaurant so wholly dedicated to pie might strive to 'create' rather than to simply 'construct'. I had great hope that this might be so for the Pie Hole, but sadly- I was disappointed and underwhelmed on many a front. I read some of the other reviews written by other "trip advisers" and my only conclusion is that these kind folks haven't truly experienced what I call "the secret ingredient" of CARE that was so lacking in these pies. So to anyone who has ever eaten a pie made without any more concern than that of a Mrs. Smith's variety, perhaps this place may well in fact have seemed truly amazing, but seriously folks...I shook my head in disbelief at the proud display of CRISCO on the shelves, coupled with the fact that both my sister in law and I were left with a feeling that we were somehow inconveniencing the pie monger by our visit, AND....this is a big one!- that she had a dog (albeit one of a small variety) IN THE KITCHEN while she lackadaisically scooped filling into a pie shell and boxed it with not so much a smile on her face. (we took a chicken pot pie to go and split a piece of key lime) neither were impressive. The ambiance ended at the door as Crisco was prominently displayed (please do some research, this stuff is NOT FOOD) as though she were bragging about how her pies were made from "scratch". Couple this with her attitude and the result of her culinary construction and I say- I would rather eat a Mrs. Smiths pie any day - cheaper, probably made with the same 'love and care' AND Crisco, and served with a whole lot less "attitude"

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twilight3380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
633 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Great pie”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Excellent pies with a wide range of pies to select, all are freshly baked---usually plenty of parking out front.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ballhawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
852 reviews
392 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've heard from everyone that this place has great pies. I wanted a caramel pecan pie (Turtle) for Thanksgiving so we ordered one and picked it up Saturday (they were only going to have a limited selection of pies availabe the week of Thanksgiving). They told us that they were open until a certain time but if they sold out of pies they would close earlier (and call us to let us know so we could come pick up our pie prior to them closing). We ran by between 1 and 2p, picked up the pie along with slices for dessert that night. There was a limited selection so I do suggest if there is something you really want, go early in the day. The staff was extremely friendly. We enjoyed the slices we picked up for dessert that night and are looking forward to the Turtle pie!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great location off Canton Street. Not enough parking especially when people park their cars all wacky! Pies are yummy! Can purchase by the slice or by the pie. I agree with other reviewers - go early for the best selection.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimmieusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pie Hole also viewed

 

Been to The Pie Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing