We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST DESSERT EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pie Hole

The Pie Hole
Ranked #2 of 10 Dessert in Roswell
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“BEST DESSERT EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This place is in a cute little carriage-house behind a larger house off the main road. Go all the way down the driveway and you will have arrived in heaven. I tried the Turtle Pie and the Derby Pie. Words can't do justice to the freshness and the well-balanced ingredients that made each bite a wondrous symphony of taste. The crust is just perfect and the Turtle Pie had lots of whole, salted pecans atop a dreamy layer of caramel and had chocolate chips to balance the sweet/salty flavor. The Derby Pie was offered warm and almost brought tears to my eyes, it was so good. You will be amazed at the difference a well-made pie can bring to the table. I enjoyed my pie at a warm, sunny window seat overlooking a lush flowerbox arrangement buzzing with honeybees and butterflies. Go. Just go. You're welcome.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank prestonjack41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    14
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“yum yum yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Great homemade pies, outdoor seating, great location, friendly staff. Did I say greta pies? Check it out. Make it a destination stop for some dessert!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dubi43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gotta get me some pie!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

The pie is awesome, any which way you slice it (pardon the pun!). The strawberry rhubard, lemon and chocolate chess all make my mouth water. Go early to get the best selection. You can also special order a whole pie if you have a special event. The only down side is the parking is terrible and they close too early.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ThreeGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb pies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

The pies are off the chart in this cool little barn. Strawberry & Pineapple is my favorite. The Coconut pie is better than Emeril's or my grandmother's. That is saying a lot.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mktgsuperhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“This place is worth finding! Delicious homemade pies!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

The Pie Hole is a tiny hole-in-the-wall pie bakery in downtown Roswell. Set back in an alleyway with a one-lane driveway, it is easy to miss but it's worth retracing your steps to find it! They have a variety of flavors, from traditional to unique and so far, all that I have tried are DELICIOUS. Their apple pies are huge and tall and perfect for gift-giving. They make them on property and sell them by the slice, half pie, or whole pie.

I suggest picking up your pie and taking it home to eat - The Pie Hole may have spectacular pies, but the atmosphere is industrial meets fast food. It will suffice if you are simply must eat your pie right away (and I totally get that!!!). However, it's not the kind of cozy place where you would want to lounge about and have pie and conversation with friends.

One note - if you go on the weekend, get there early! On Saturday mornings they have a great selection of a wide variety of pies, but by Saturday afternoon, there may literally only be a few pieces left! I have been able to successfully "call-ahead" and reserve a pie on short notice, though, which is great. The owners are eager to please and will even take orders via their facebook page.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChasingSun101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pie Hole also viewed

 

Been to The Pie Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing