We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With all candor and honesty - a dump to be avoided.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Rome Downtown
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed May 13, 2013

While the staff members we dealt with were uniformly helpful, courteous, and assistive, the condition of the hotel in general was really quite awful (with the exception of the dining area and the lobby, which were bright spots in an otherwise dingy, odorous, tired-looking and generally grimy experience). The hallways – dirty walls, stained carpeting, dark lighting – looked like a college dorm at the end of a semester. The elevators look like something out of a public housing project, right down to graffiti carved into the doors. Our rooms, although with newer carpeting and more recent painting, looked better than the common areas, suffered from poor maintenance – for instance, the bathrooms, which should be a beacon of cleanliness in any hotel of any kind, were decidedly not. The sink faucets looked as if they had not been cleaned for days, and both of our rooms had missing items from the bathrooms, and one room's bathroom door would not latch or lock. We had to put a couple of the bed pillows aside because they looked as if the foam inside them had split and divided. And, the smells, oh, the smells – whatever odor chasing spray this place is using, it is overpowering, and certainly not pleasant. While this tired place looks like it might have promise, it has a long, long way to go - so, when in Rome, do as the Romans do - avoid this place if you can.

Room Tip: A tip to choose a good room: go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnrome, General Manager at Days Inn Rome Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thourough review of your recent stay. As we are under renovation to improve our guests experience, providing clean comfortable rooms is our number one priority. I have shared your comments with the housekeeping and maintenance staff for corrective action. As communicated in the direct correspondence we sincerely apologize for your experience. We hope you will return to the Days Inn Rome to see our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 397 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Please don't stay at this hotel unless you have exhausted all other possibilities. On Saturday night, May 4, I got there around 9:30 PM. There was a problem with the reservation that my roommate and I solved within 3 minutes, yet it took the desk clerk and her supervisor about a half hour to understand what we had been telling them. When we finally got our keys and went to our room, the hallway smelled and the room smelled. It was sort of like Febreze trying (unsuccessfully) to cover up another odor. In the bathroom there were paint splatters on the shower curtain, tile, bathtub and light fixture. The bathroom floor was sticky. I will probably never wear those slippers again. The amenities included the tiniest bottle of shampoo I have ever seen, a 1" square bar of soap, ice bucket with 2 plastic cups, 3 rough bath towels , 3 hand towels, 3 washcloths, a single cup coffee maker with 2 cups, 1 bag of coffee and 1 teabag. All for a room which could potentially sleep 4 people. The decor was mismatched and between antique and ancient. This place definitely needs some work.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moseyjiminy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Tommy L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Hotel really needs some work. Wall paper coming off walls, carpet held down with duck tape. Needs alot of care. Old linens. Needs a good cleaning to remove grime.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank lesaValdosta_Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank stretchuga100
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rome
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn Rome
Quality Inn Rome
#7 of 20 in Rome
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rome-East
0.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rome
2.7 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Rome Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Rome Downtown

Address: 840 Turner McCall Blvd SW, Rome, GA 30161-2927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Rome
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $79 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Rome Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Days Inn Rome Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Rome Hotel Rome
Rome Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing