We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful relaxing stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rome
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

My hubby and I stayed just one night at the Hawthorne on April 30th. We love the style of the historic building. The room was fantastic looking w/ exposed brick on one wall and very large windows. The furnishing were very nice and the room itself was very clean. Love Love LOVE the location! We were able to park the car and walk to dinner and then to the event we were attending on Broad St. The bed/linens were very comfortable and the breakfast was amazing!! They had eggs, grits, ham, biscuits, hashbrowns, french toast and much MUCH more. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MamaBird162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnhawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rome, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.
It's obvious that you respect the preservation of old buildings. We have made our rooms oversized and very comfortable just the same as your home.
We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast as our cook really takes pride in her job.
She also fixes the meals for the Wednesday night social so if you get a chance to come back make it a point to stay on a Wednesday!
Remember that the Fall is a good time to visit so you can take advantage of our free bikes to ride the river trail!
Again thank you for your kind words.
Gay Nichols
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    211
    54
    30
    19
See reviews for
349
148
49
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

Being a converted 19th century warehouse, this place has a number of quirks. The exposed brickwork and wood, the high ceilings, and the sloping floors give it an industrial atmosphere. The rooms are carpeted, and the original wood underneath still creaks a bit. It has only 37 rooms, and they are large studios or suites, most with kitchenettes. The decor is rather beige with contemporary fittings, but the large windows admit lots of light. The beds and furniture are comfortable, and housekeeping is good.

The hotel is located in the historic district of town near shops, numerous restaurants and the riverwalk trails. We did not try the "country" breakfast. Wi-Fi was also provided in the room rate, as was parking (your key gets you in and out of the lot). Our room overlooked the parking lot with the river to the left and was nice and quiet. Other reviewers have suggested that the street side can be noisy.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms face the parking lot, 3rd floor is top
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gnhawthorn, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rome, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. Our hotel is in a renovated warehouse and the ambiance we have created here is reflected in the guest rooms and through out the hotel.
Rome Georgia is very involved in historic preservation and is showcased within the hotel.
Some of our rooms are located on the street side and with that being said you will have some road noise since the hotel is located directly in the downtown area.
Once again we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will get a chance to visit us again.
Gay Nichols
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

I've been staying at this hotel weekly for the past 11 months. I can't say enough nice things about most of the staff. I had to travel with an elderly parent on one occasion and they were very accomodatinig and attentive. My only suggestions would be to improve the breakfast selections, they were not consistent, and they choice of tv channels were not what they could be. I would definitely stay at this hotel again....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southpawz430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

The hotel is historic and nice but the management is the worst I have ever experienced. We ordered a rollaway bed and were told upon arrival they "were all out." When we attempted to speak to the manager, we were told she was home "taking care of her grandkids" and could not speak with us! Later, when we tried to check out the evening before departure, the clerk told us she did not know how to "check out" anyone and we'd have to do it another time when someone was working that knew how to do it. I could hardly believe this poorly run hotel was a Wyndham property (guess their standards have slipped!). Historic ambiance aside, I would NOT stay at this hotel. There are better, less expensive places to stay in Rome (not run by Ma and Pa Kettle), so save your money and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chambers2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

wanted to "treat" myself to a more expensive hotel, having just enrolled my daughter at Berry College, and having just enough $ left over to spend the night here.
It was terrible. The physical property LOOKED great on the surface, but the receptionist was slow and surly, and put me into a loud room right next to the elevator and loudly humming vending machines. I was really tired, but dragged myself back down to the desk to be moved. The second room was almost as bad, on the second floor overhanging the main drag with trucks and cars rambling past all night. Terrible.
If that wasn't enough, I left one strong letter of complaint for the manager, and sent another one directly to corporate headquarters.
Neither stimulated any kind of reply. Nothing.... And that was in June 2010.

Lee Hollingsworth
lee@leehollingsworth.com

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lateguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

Stayed one night. Really nice room, full kitchen and living room. Really soft towels. Walking distance to the restaurants in town. Rome is a nice town.

If you can get a room on the side of parking lot. My room was on the main street and traffic noise was loud in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shivits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

I go to Rome quite a bit to visit my parents and I usually make it a day trip. This time we spent the night here since I won a free night at the last Rome Car Cruise. It was a perfect chance to try this hotel out to see if it would be a good place to stay in the future.

The hotel is in an old historic building but has been nicely converted. To park turn off of 2nd Avenue onto 1st St. and turn immediately into the lot. Parking is in a little lot off of 1st St. If the lot is full just park in the covered area and check in. You will be able to park your car in the gated lot next door with your room key after you check in.

The lobby is in an area with several shops and a spa area. It has a nice rustic feel.

We had a King mini-suite on the third floor. The room was very roomy and comfortable. It has a kitchen with a full size refrigerator, sink, stove and dishwasher. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. It had two nice chairs where my wife and I relaxed for the evening. Freee Wifi Internet worked well in the room and there was no goofy login sequence like at a Hampton. The bed was very comfortable but I woke up hot and had to keep turning the A/C down until the room felt comfortable to me.

There is a nice free buffet breakfast on the first floor where there was scrambled eggs, sausage, potato cakes, biscuits, gravy, watermelon, bananas, apples, pastries and cereal. There are plenty of chairs and tables to eat your breakfast.

The hotel is very close to the Broad Street area of downtown Rome where there are a number of nice restaurants. I never felt uncomfortable walking from the hotel to Broad Street and the shops.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W4ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rome
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rome-East
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Rome Downtown
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Rome
Quality Inn Rome
#7 of 20 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rome

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rome
Address: 100-110 West 2nd Avenue, Rome, GA 30161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Rome
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rome 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel will open in 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Rome Hotel Rome
Hawthorn Suites Rome
Rome Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing