We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gulf coast oysters - delish & priced right” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Curlee's Fish House and Oyster Bar

Curlee's Fish House and Oyster Bar
Ranked #79 of 177 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Gulf coast oysters - delish & priced right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Took over an hour drive from Roswell to 227 Broad Street in downtown Rome to give this place a try and we're so glad we did. You'd never realize that you're no where near the beach once you enter this place. Great decor for what it is - a rustic beach joint. The gulf coast orders were very flavorful and $9 a dozen. That's only 75 cents each and worth every penny. I also got a 1/2 dozen Curlee's baked oysters and they were really tasty too. There's a variety of 6 different baked oysters to choose from so I know we'll be back. I ordered the clam chowder but was served the baked potato soup by mistake. I guess it's the same soup just less the clams. It was so good that I didn't have the waiter change it. I don't remember our waiter's name but he was very sweet and very very southern. Great service too.

My husband enjoyed the shrimp cocktail with 6 large shrimp as well as the crab cake appetizer. He enjoyed the two small crab cakes but they weren't a favorite of mine. We'll definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1RoswellMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    7
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fresh fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

we liked the wood plank salmon with the house dark sweet sauce. It is hard to find fresh fish in north Georgia. We hope this restaurant lasts.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great chef's specials, missing wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

The orange roughy special was absolutely outstanding. The salmon was excellent as usual. Oysters were a little off in February. We've enjoyed the wine there previously, but this time most of what we wanted from the list was out-of-stock. We tried to help the waitress learn how to open a bottle of wine. Her service was very good except for this. She definitely needed more training. Atmosphere just average. If you want to avoid restaurants with TVs (we usually do), don't go to Curlee's.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
2 reviews
“Overpriced and under served”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This place has the atmosphere of a cheap beach shack but priced like a 5 star resturant. The food is so not worth it. Portions were decent, but quality and taste for the price not even close. Service was poor and looked very unprofessional. The floors going to the rest rooms were greasy or something-we almost fell 3 times! I understand the need for a seafood resturant in Rome, but this is not it. Either go high end or family-lower prices would fit more in line with quality of food, servers, and atmosphere. Wont be visiting Curlee's again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
1 review
“food was just OK..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

food was just OK....service was fair to poor.....much better places to choose from....just didn't impress me ......

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curlee's Fish House and Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Curlee's Fish House and Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing