We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B, charming and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Claremont House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Rome B&B and Inns
Charlotte, NC
1 review
“Excellent B&B, charming and comfortable”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at Claremont house and would love to return someday. My husband and I were both impressed and intrigued by the decor and elegance of the home, but it remained comfortable too! I enjoyed the interesting little historical notes throughout the home, and the recommendations for "things to do in Rome" were perfect! Our hosts were incredibly friendly, the maintenance of the home was perfect and the breakfasts were delicious. We had a perfect weekend away from our kids, doing fun grownup things like relaxing, historical sightseeing (and even the ghost hunts and tours!) I highly recommend The Claremont house to anyone considering visiting the area - or if you want a reason to visit the area! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    12
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
22
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I chose the Claremont House as I have stayed at many B&Bs all over the country and was tired of "hotel living." WHAT A TERRIFIC surprise and delight! The rooms are massive, the claw foot tub reminded me of the house I grew up in that was built around 1900! In addition to the ambience in the house, it was set up with internet access so I could work from my room as well! The host, Chris, really made my stay though. He was welcoming, charming, and a great breakfast cook. He graciously insisted that he make my breakfast earlier than the scheduled 8AM breakfast time, due to my work schedule starting at 8AM. What a treat! Also, their coffee is worth the stay! I thoroughly enjoyed coming home at the end of the work day. I will definitely stay there whenever I'm in Rome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Apple051979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here twice in the same week, and enjoyed it immensely, Hope to come again. The breakfast was beyond excellent. The rooms are lovely. Chris, Holly and iris are very friendly and answered our every need.

The winding staircase is beautiful, but a bit hard for an older couple, as we are. Chris is ever ready to help with baggage.

Snacks are available, and ideas for dining and shopping.

Room Tip: Check out the cottage if you have problems with stairs. You could still enjoy the beautiful home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCShowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Claremont House for our third time this past weekend. The house itself is stunning. Our room was very spacious, and I loved having the addition of a daybed in our room. We stayed in the Yancey Room. The room was gorgeous. The bed is on the high side, but that's no problem because there is a step stool provided that matches the elegant Victorian bed. I love having the dressing area and the bathroom is very well lit, which is great for putting on makeup. I also love the big claw-foot tub in the bathroom. This house will transport you back in time, yet provides you with modern amenities.

The innkeepers, Chris and Holly, are incredible hosts. They do everything they can to make your stay comfortable. They even helped me plan a special birthday surprise for my husband.

The breakfasts are always amazing and very filling. You always have a variety of fruits, some sort of meat, in addition to a main entree. The fresh stuffed French toast is among my favorite. For people like us who prefer hot tea rather than coffee, they offer a nice selection of teas.

The location of the Claremont House makes it easy to get to just about any part of Rome. It is also in a great location to go to Cedartown, Rockmart, and Cave Spring.

Overall, this is the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in. There was not one thing we were disappointed with or unhappy about, except the fact we had to come back home. I highly recommend the Claremont House as a place to stay. It's much better and more comfortable than any hotel could ever be.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenni32874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

After looking at the photos available, I was excited to book The Cottage for a long tennis weekend in Rome. I assumed that The Cottage would be similar to the rooms of the main house, but I was totally wrong! The antique bed was falling apart, the decor and furniture reminded us of our college days.. when we threw together whatever was discarded from other homes to hopefully function in ours.! I think this little cottage was used as the storage room for the leftovers from the main house.
After two nights of reliving our college days, we were able to move to the main house for our last night. The difference in accomodations was like day and night, although we were charged the same for all 3 nights of our stay.
The food was excellent, and the inn keepers were very friendly and courteous.
We will stay again, but not in The Cottage!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank horses5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claremonthousebb, Owner at Claremont House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thanks for staying with us recently. We appreciate your honesty in reviewing our property. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. As with any historic property there are many ongoing projects. Our cottage is a unit we are working on this summer and we will take your comments into consideration. We plan to upgrade the current Queen bed to a King bed. We are also going to replace the Futon in the Living room with something more attractive. (We are firm believers in comfort, and have never experienced a comfortable sofa bed. The futon remains the most comfortable way to offer seating in the daytime and back pain free sleep at night. We are hoping to find a higher end futon that will mirror the decor of the main house.)

We are saddened to read that you were dissatisfied with the cottage. We take great pride in our home and want all of our guests to have an enjoyable and memorable experience. We try to communicate the unique nature of our cottage. On our website our cottage is described as such: "With eight-foot ceilings, soft-beige walls, and a pleasing world-travel-inspired décor, guests find peace in this simple home." The cottage has very attractive heart pine floors, but is very modest compared to the more elaborate main house. Our cottage is great for small groups or extended stays as it offers several sleeping areas and a full kitchen. Our cottage pricing is based upon the large square footage and amenities offered.

Honest feedback helps us to become the best Bed & Breakfast in Rome, Georgia. Thank you for the opportunity to improve our services. We look forward to exceeding your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Ontario
Level Contributor
321 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This place was very nice, historically older but in decent condition, the room was huge lots of woodwork. The owners younger but energetic and friendly. Breakfast was great, nice quiet area of town. Front porch could use new flooring but holding together. Lots of antiques, over all a nice stay for one night. Close to downtown. parking limited.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andypegonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Family in Rome arranged for us to stay two nights in the Claremont House. Our "Yancy Room" would have lodged 4, with a tall double bed and a pull-out day-bed, and was spacious. It has its own bathroom, added onto the 1882 house in recent years. No, it isn't exactly "regulation," being down about 5 steps, though a small hallway, and with a low slant ceiling...but it works. Chris made an excellent host and breakfast chef, offering just the right amount of cordialness and not "hovering." We appreciated the use of the living room with all its vintage furniture, The unobtrusive signs around the rooms covering the history of this house and the Victorian architecture (including the huge safe in the main hall!) generally were an added bonus. We were the only guests at the time...which made it exceptionally quiet, but disappointing because I want this couple to make a go of the B&B. The only reason for not rating it "excellent" has to do with accessibility: if you require mobility accommodations, this might not be the place for you: grand stairs to the bedrooms, claw-foot tub converted to shower, and a bed high enough you might need a 2-step stool (provided!). But the ambiance and history beat any Holiday Inn!

Room Tip: Check out their website for photos of their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
1.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Rome
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rome
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Rome Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rome
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rome-East
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Claremont House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 906 East Second Ave., Rome, GA 30161-3302
Location: United States > Georgia > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Claremont House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Claremont House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont House b&b
Claremont House Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing