We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best overall meal of the year!”
Review of Canyon Grill

Canyon Grill
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Rising Fawn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best overall meal of the year!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Wow, who would have thought that such a Great restaurant would be in a remote location!
After a day of extensive hiking, we ventured to this gem that was recommended by our host. SO glad we went!
Every aspect if the meal was Fabulous! Enjoyed being able to byob and the "Slash and Burn" catfish for two was Awesome! From the fresh, warm bread, through the grilled vegetables, to the fried okra, to the delicious coconut cake dessert, Everything was delicious. The service was attentive and friendly with very good recommendations. Overall, better value than good to great meals we've had at The Optimist and King & Duke in Atlanta!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gberry1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    35
    10
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice food ... needs some love”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

First off - the food was great.

However the wait staff and the reception was weak. I'm sure that Canyon Grill succeeds due to lack of competition. Our waitress was mediocre at best. She had the personality of a brick. In addition they do not have children's menu ... so with kids, I would avoid.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GaPeppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchtown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superior food, welcoming and unpretentious”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We showed up at 5:30 on a Wednesday and almost didn't go in because the building doesn't look very impressive. But there were a few cars in the lot and the reviews were so strong we had to see for ourselves. And they are right!
Food here is perfectly prepared, servers (called Captains, with their name and yearsof service embroidered on their whites) are personable, and really know the menu so they can describe items clearly and discuss pairings, etc. We chose the Crab Cake appetizer, a slightly crispy plump cake of lump crab meat with just enough stuff to hold it together, served with butter sauce, oh my. The signature 'Slash and Burn Catfish' absolutely deserves its long-standing reputation, and the warm apple and pecan bread pudding with bourbon sauce and fresh whipped cream, well, we had to make room for it.

Comparing to restaurants at home in the NY metro area, prices are very moderate for this superior quality dining experience. In fact, it was so good that we came back the following night, again arriving early to be sure of getting a table. Both Becky and Amy (our Captain's each night) made us feel at home and guided our choices. I chose the pork with tomato and rosemary, my husband the nightly special of filet mignon 'burger' with blue cheese and crispy potatoes; both were awesome. I resisted the urge to lick the plate clean, but soaked up all the sauce with the fresh bread. Wow.

BYOB, sides are a la carte.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank njmapgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food and wonderful service”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stopped at your restaurant on a Saturday night. We had delicious food and wonderful service. Loved being able to bring our own wine. I would highly recommend your establishment.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaburSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
114 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Interesting place atop of a mountain”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I went there to celebrate Valentine's Day this year. We loved it. The are restaurant does not serve alcohol, but you can bring your own beer and wine. The food was wonderful. We love how the menu changes from week to week. We actually called the food country sheik. It was country style food (fried okra, potatoes, etc) with an upscale twist. I chose the trout dinner when we went. It was locally grown trout that was lightly breaded and sauted with a lemon butter cream sauce and almonds. It was so good. The trout was cooked perfectly and tasted so wonderful. We just had the best time. One thing to note is that it gets very crowded, so reservations is a must. One other thing we loved is the service, the wait staff are local and they seemed pleased that we were there. They were very helpful and very knowledgeable on the menu. I liked the fact that they were friendly, local and that they knew the menu well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon Grill also viewed

 

Been to Canyon Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing