We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Visit a Success”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rising Fawn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cloudland Canyon State Park Cabins
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Birthday Visit a Success”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I have to stay we have stayed in almost every hotel, cabin, lodge in the Georgia State Park System and these are the crown jewel! We did not have a flat screen TV as mentioned in other reviews but the view was wonderful. The updated robin egg blue paint color is fantastic and the updated applicances and fixtures makes it seem like a cozy cottage. We stayed in cabins 4 and 5, which were fully stocked with cookware and linens. We really enjoyed our stay even though it was raining most of the weekend and we had 12 people in our party between the two cabins. A big thank you to the staff that keep this place spotless and well stocked! The waterfalls make this one of the premier parks in Georgia! We came to celebrate my Mom's 63rd birthday, she has terminal cancer and we needed a quiet, clean place to join together to celebrate her, it was a wonderful stay. You should take the time to come for a vist!

Room Tip: There is no DVD player and only a few channels available on the TV (most are for kids thankfully) so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HHP05182011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arley, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

My husband and I were passing through the area and decided to drive through the park. It's only $5/ vehicle if you aren't staying over night. We couldn't stay long, but got some great pics while we were there, and would love to go back one day and spend more time hiking the trails.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

While visiting Cloudland Canyon State Park, we stayed at the cottages on the east rim. They were clean, comfortable and updated. The large rock fireplace and screened porch with rockers were bonuses. We were close to all the trails and enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlyingDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rising Sun, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Cushy Cottage Camping!

Stayed here for 3 nights for a family reunion.
Cottages were amply stocked with bath linens and kitchen supplies for cooking/eating.
Frig., electric range, microwave & coffeemaker included. Ceiling fans, flat screen t.v. gliders, beds, dressers and clock radios too. There were bar soaps and 2 sets of dishwasher soaps. Bring your own food and drink and supplies like coffee & filters. We also brought paper towels, dish soap, trash bags, etc...you never knew if your cabin was stocked the same as your neighbor's.

The screened in front porch with rockers was a nice bonus to use esp in the early morning or late in the day (some of those bugs were vicious outside, so bring the bug repellent). Grills are also outside each cabin and a trash cont near the road. Parking area for at least 2 vehicles at the cottages. Did need to use your car to get to pavillion and park office, etc...because of how far everything was spread out.

The weather was pretty hot when we were there so the a.c. was used indoors. We also reserved the pavillion for joint gatherings & b-b-q. Activities included some walking the trails right behind the cabins, art/nature activities at the office or tennis courts and wildlife observations with fairly tame deer moseying through your camp.

Our 2 bedroom cabin was a little pricey at ~ $145 a night per cabin. Capacity may say 8 per cabin but with 2 FULL sized beds per bedroom, capacity is more like 4. Young children could probably share a bed but not the adults; we each had our own bed for comfort. Generally quiet as well. There are a couple of pet designated cottages for an additional fee for those that want to bring a dog. Also a handicapp accessible cottage too.

Overall, we had a nice time. For more information, check out their webpage:
www.gastateparks.org/CloudlandCanyon

Room Tip: Book early - they tend to fill up during the summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank TravelingCoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

You can't beat the location of this park or these cabins. It's quiet, beautiful, and surrounded by hiking trails. The cabins themselves are spotlessly clean and have everything you need -- beds, linens, dining & living area, fully stocked kitchen, etc. However, the beauty outside is not mirrored inside. Instead of a wood interior, there are vinyl floors & fake paneling throughout. The bathroom fixtures are old and stained and the decoration is outdated. Overall, they could use a remodel, but even so, they're a great place to stay. They may not be gorgeous themselves, but they're very functional and located in a beautiful place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Mountainsssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

My family and I go here every year and stay in one of the cabins. It's a gorgeous place to take lots of pictures! In fact if you have a digital camera, I guarantee you are bound to take hundreds of photos. It's really great to go around March, but warning - it is cold. Last time we went in March, it even snowed! I highly recommend going here even if you go just for the day. It's beautiful! And if you get a chance to stay in one of the cabins, do it! They are nice and cozy; very clean and they are very spacious cabins. If it's your first time hiking, I would just recommend taking the Rim trail. But for the most experienced hiker, I would suggest trekking down into the Canyon. This is one place you don't want to pass up. They even have a really great gift shop with lots of good stuff. So if you forget something, don't worry, the gift shop is bound to have it. So check out this place, it's amazing!

Helpful?
6 Thank daughteroking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rising Fawn
3.5 mi away
Days Inn Trenton
Days Inn Trenton
#1 of 1 in Trenton
231 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Chattanooga West/Lookout Mountain
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Chattanooga-Lookout Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chattanooga I-24 West
14.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Inn
BEST WESTERN Royal Inn
#38 of 96 in Chattanooga
500 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Chattanoogan
The Chattanoogan
#8 of 96 in Chattanooga
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloudland Canyon State Park Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloudland Canyon State Park Cabins

Property: Cloudland Canyon State Park Cabins
Address: 122 Cloudland Canyon Park, Rising Fawn, GA 30738
Location: United States > Georgia > Rising Fawn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Rising Fawn
Number of rooms: 88
Also Known As:
Cloudland Canyon State Park Cabins Hotel Rising Fawn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing