We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only Hotel in Kampar”
Review of Grand Kampar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Kampar Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kampar
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed only a night but for the price even with the lack of competition, I think it is value for money.
Plus points:
+ Good location. Walking out of the hotel, there are many eateries and other services easily accessible.
+ Rooms are big, clean and acceptable.
+ Price is reasonable, especially considering you need a 30 minute drive to the next decent hotel located in Ipoh.
+ Ample parking, but then we were there on a weekday.

Minus points:
- We had some problems with the key-card. You have to make sure the SIM card faces you when accessing the room but facing away when putting it into the energy slot.
- Air conditioning was a tad loud

Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you are in Kampar for business. Actually you don't have a choice.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the main street. I suppose you get a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LNZJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 145 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

I manage to book a delux room at grand kampar hotel on 17/1/2014 ( Thaipusam,) Overall the hotel and location are really convenience .

1) Front office are friendly and accommodate to our requirement such as baby corb without we request it our self.
2) Breakfast was good enough although we can go out and try some local ipoh breakfast at the town area.
3) Swimming pool located at strategy location at root top but there are limited shelter for belonging and cloth changing.
4) Room are clean and nice
5) Hotel located at the center of bandar baru kampar with alot of hawker center which offer local ipoh delighted , westerner , japanese , taiwan , korea. McDonald , Pizza hut.
6) I visited the gym center ,there are few workable unit around for a relax exercise near by the walkway to swimming pool.


I will come back again to visit this gem again .

Room Tip: any room is nice , i booked delux room for 3 adult + 1 children . we manage to squeeze in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymondkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKHFOAM, Front Office Assistant Manager at Grand Kampar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Good Day Sir,

Thank you for the valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you back and wishing you and your family Happy Chinese New Year 2014 & Gong Xi Fa Cai !

Regards,
GKHFOAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

First impression was good, Building looks really grand from outside.

Staff quickly processed my reservations and key card were given very quickly.

Room was nice for the price paid, bathroom was clean and spacious however the shower curtain had a little mouldy smell.

There is a swimming pool and a Gym at the rooftop, it was small but perfectly fine and functional.

Breakfast spread was good, the area surrounding the hotel comes to life at night with plenty of eateries and cafe opened till late night.

Overall it was a nice hotel suitable for a relaxing getaway, it was really nice to just chill in the room, use the pool or gym or simply spending some time at one of the many cafes nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hotel_Reviewer_Jem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I took my family to spend 4 days in this hotel escaping from the busy city life. Its a nice hotel located in an old mining town of Kampar, Perak. We stay in a large family suite and enjoy it very much. We the food was average only. There's a large outdoor activity center managed by the hotel and my kids played badminton, futsal and basketball.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKHFOAM, Front Office Assistant Manager at Grand Kampar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the positive and valuable feedback regarding your stay recently. We are looking forward to welcome you and your family back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
GKHFOAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The room in there is consider clean and ok. But one thing i not sure about the staff working style. In the beginning of year 2013 i have business trip there. So alway will be thereand i request for the co-operate rate. But until today i think i been giving out up to three business card. Until today(1st NOvember 2013) i want to book again they told me i still cant get my co-operate rate. Previously i already asked them when i can get. They told me the sales department need time process. So today when i call for booking, the staff ask me weather i receive email from them? After i check i say yes. And she asked me did i reply email? And i say no(due to the email nv told me need to reply) So all i explain to the girl. But she say if i don have time to reply i cant get the co-operate. At first ask me did i have any email from them. Now ask me am i reply the email. Is just what their services they provide?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

First time stay at this hotel. Was received by polite reception staff. Clean and spacious room. Moderate choice of breakfast menu. Quiet location in Bandar Baru Kampar. but easy to access. Overall value for money and satisfactory one night stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samdina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKHFOAM, Front Office Assistant Manager at Grand Kampar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Warmest Greetings from Grand Kampar Hotel !

Dear Samdina,

Thank you for the positive and valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you back and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

Regards,
GKHFOAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Been to this 3-star rating hotel for holiday trip. Arriving on Sunday means not much guest expected due shoulder period.

Standard deluxe room is big for two and sufficient up to 4 persons. King-sized bed is available however subject to early booking. Downturn is they still using CRT TV (not sure on bigger rooms).

Gym is locked during visitation about 5pm. Believed this it's open via request. Other facilities such as swimming pool and table tennis also located at top floor.

Breakfast area is clean with basic local Malaysian menu and breads. Hotel is very well renovated while staff is helpful.

Overall stay in Grand Kampar Hotel is good value for money. Will back for stay in future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael_Leong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampar
0.1 mi away
M Boutique Kampar
M Boutique Kampar
#1 of 3 in Kampar
44 reviews
12.2 mi away
D Hotel Seri Iskandar
D Hotel Seri Iskandar
#2 of 2 in Bandar Seri Iskandar
43 reviews
15.9 mi away
Symphony Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 13 in Tanah Rata
527 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hotel Titiwangsa
Hotel Titiwangsa
#5 of 9 in Brinchang
105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kampar Times Inn Hotel
Kampar Times Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kampar
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Kampar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kampar Hotel

Address: 2188, Jalan Timah, Bandar Baru Kampar, Kampar 31900, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kampar District > Kampar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kampar
Price Range: $39 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Kampar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Kampar Hotel, a 3 star deluxe hotel in Kampar, lies within Kinta Valley, close proximity to Cameron Highlands, Perak, Malaysia. Grand Kampar Hotel is an impressive Spanish architecture and situated in the heart of Taman Bandar Baru Kampar, which is the fastest growing township in the area. The town was a centre in the tin mine industry, founded in 1887. The name Kampar was derived from the Cantonese words "kam pou." It means 'precious gold' and refers to the town's previously large tin reserves. Located within the vicinity of this hotel is Kolej Tunku Abdul Rahman, University Tunku Abdul Rahman (Main Campus), banks, corporations and factories. A wide variety of restaurants and bistros are within walking distance. Eco-recreation activities such as bird watching, trekking, fishing, caving and white water rafting are within easy reach. Grand Kampar Hotel features 155 rooms in five categories: Standard Deluxe, Executive Deluxe, Triple Deluxe, Family Suite and Executive Suite. All the rooms are equipped with modern facilities for your comfortable accommodation in Kampar. Wi-Fi connection only available at lobby area. For good and cheap dining in Kampar, there is so much to offer. Guests can dine in under the cozy atmosphere of the in-house cafe which serves Asian and Western cuisines. We also cater for a wide variety of Chinese cuisines in our in-house Chinese restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Kampar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing