We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sindlesham
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here whilst visiting family over christmas for one night. Lovely room overlooking the river with a very large super king bed. The mattress and pillows were a little too hard for my liking but that's only my taste. 24 hour check -in which was helpful and late check-out too. Staff were very helpful and polite. The breakfast was great - lots of choice and you didn't feel like you had to move on quickly. Nice friendly atmosphere in the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

missel77

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review for your stay with us over Christmas.Very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the friendly and welcoming service provided by the team. Best wishes for the new year.

Regards

Niall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (761)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 761 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

The Best Western Reading Moat House overlooks the river Loddon. This hotel has the elegance of a modern hotel with the charm of a 19th century mill house.

My room was warm, clean and comfortable. Service and food were of a high standard with helpful and accommodating staff. Check in and out was efficient with minimal delay.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall B, Manager at Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Selina C

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the hotel. Pleasure to read your complimentary feedback regarding the hotel but in particular the food and service provided by the team.

Best Regards

Niall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed out at the Moat House in Reading, partially because of a lack of availability within Central Reading, and partially because I'd stayed there previously for an Xmas party. It's a lovely hotel, perhaps a little more expensive than others in the area but still pretty good value for money and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Daz6680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Went for a group Christmas lunch meal, this was all re-booked for 50+ people. On arrival we had to wait over an hour for the room to be made ready. The bar we were assured would be able to get real draught beer this did not happen. Once seated the room was very nice. The food considering they had the pre orders for several days in advance was mediocre at best. I had soup to start it was really spicy with very soggy crotons; the bread was very nice if this helps. When the turkey arrived it was just warm with very hard vegetables and very soft roasted potatoes, two of our table did not get there main meal until the rest had finished really poor services. Pudding mine beginning pavlova coinciding of a small hard bit of meringue cream and some very sharp berry’s was not to my taste but other were happy with it. The meal was done on a budget with smallish portions which I total understand but this does not make up for cold under cooked food was general was not very nice.
I’m sure if you have a normal meal hear it’s properly fine but be aware of mass group dinners

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank DunnyDidcot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed December 10, 2013

A good well run hotel with excellent value for money on the special week end rates. Service and food of a high standard with helpful and accommodating staff. in and out very efficient with minimal delay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed for 1 night on business, the staff were very friendly and helpful, had a bar meal in the evening which was very good and the cooked breakfast was excellent, would definately stay again. The rooms were very nice and the hotel is very clean.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cannywarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

we used this hotel as a base for a spa trip to Nirvana day spa. very convenient (6 mins drive) very comfortable and excellent breakfast. The combination of Nirvana and this hotel is almost equivalent to staying at a health spa like Champneys but at a fraction of the cost!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niall B, General Manager at Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Lesley B

Thank you for takingthe time to post a review of your recent stay on the Tripadvisor website. Fantastic to read that the hotel was perfect for your needs and represents excellent value for money. Best wishes for the New Year when we hope to be able to welcome you back.

Regards

Niall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sindlesham
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10
1 mi away
Pheasant Inn Hotel
Pheasant Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Winnersh
102 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cantley House Hotel
Cantley House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Wokingham
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Winnersh Triangle
4.4 mi away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
3.4 mi away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning on Thames
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel

Address: Mill Lane, Sindlesham, Wokingham RG41 5DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Sindlesham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sindlesham
Price Range: $62 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Reading Moat House Hotel Wokingham
Best Western Wokingham
Wokingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing