We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything was delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Smokin Pig

Smokin Pig
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Colonial Heights, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything was delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Don't let the hole-in-the-wall look fool you. The barbecue is outstanding with four different types of sauces, And the Brunswick stew was the best I have ever had...and I was raised in Virginia! Only in Georgia can you get Brunswick stew as a side order. The service is first-class and extremely friendly. It is the epitome of Southern hospitality.

Take the Coastal Hwy exit off I-95 and go toward Savannah. In less than a half-mile, it will be on your left next to a Subway and a place called Chu's. It is more than well worth the stop. And you just gotta get a T-shirt!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill_Atkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    89
    35
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

This bbq was just ok. You can get much better bbq for the same price. The people are nice but we didn't think it was that good. Pulled pork was dry and so was the sliced chicken. Bbq sauces are ok, again, nothing special. The texas toast was probably the best thing we tried. Don't make a special trip here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marieclaire0924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot off I95”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Great little BBQ joint...friendly service & delicious food. No fried food! Right off I95N, behind the BP station. Perfect pit stop!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Awesome food and awesome service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I wanted to try this place because of the great reviews. We were passing through on our way back to FL. We got there a few minutes early and waited for them to open. We were not disappointed! The BBQ pork plates were amazing and the banana pudding was perfect! It was also nice to have some Iced tea. Great BBQ joint!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slleuthold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Undiscovered gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The Smokin' Pig is in a gas station and you can easily miss it when riding by. The bbq is good and fresh and the side items are delicious. The Smokin Pig does not serve fried food which is actually a relief from the usual. I usually get a bbq sandwich with Brunswick stew (which is quite good). The staff are very accommodating and appreciative of your business.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MLMJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokin Pig also viewed

Richmond Hill, Georgia Coast
 
Richmond Hill, Georgia Coast
Richmond Hill, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Smokin Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing